Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Naomi Wulf Prize

The Naomi Wulf Prize is named in honor of the late French historian Naomi Wulf, one of the founders of EEASA, actively involved in organizing the 2008 and 2010 EEASA conferences. The prize entails a cash prize of 500 Euros, plus consideration for publication in the Journal of Early American History (after going through the usual review process), plus a one-year free subscription to the same journal. The peer-reviewed Journal of Early American History, first published in 2011, is dedicated to the advancement of scholarly understanding of the history of the colonization of the Americas, from the late fifteenth century to 1830, and appears three times annually.

The prize is awarded following every bi-annual conference to a participant after they have submitted a written version of their paper to the EEASA board, and indicated their agreement to have the paper considered for the prize. The selection process involves the EEASA board and one member of the JEAH editorial board. The prize will be awarded within four months of the conference and is announced on the EEASA and JEAH websites.

The inaugural winner was Elena Schneider, Omohundro Institute, whose paper "Imperial Imaginings in the Spanish Atlantic During the Era of the Seven Years’ War" was presented at the 2012 conference: “Empire and Imagination in Early America and the Atlantic World.”

The joint winners of the second Naomi Wulf Prize are Claire Bourhis-Mariotti (Université Paris 8, France) for "Haiti as Lieu de Mémoire of Black Nationalist Protest and Persuasion in the Antebellum Period: African-American Emigration to Haiti, 1855-1862,” and Charlotte Lerg (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany) for “Imagery of Protest: Performative Protest Culture in Political Cartoons of the British Atlantic 1760-1790.” Both papers were presented at the 2014 conference “Protest and Persuasion: Writing, Print, Speech and Performance in Early America and the Atlantic World.”