Skip to main content

Classes

The final exam is expected to be on 13th June 2019.

Set texts studied:

Cicero - text for revision

Virgil - text for revision


TERM 3

We will use the remaining classes to focus on two main areas:

  • exam-style questions on content and scansion
  • unseen translation (building on the one's you did over the vacation)

I will not be dealing with basic set text translation or vocabulary: this is now in your court, but you are welcome to come to see me for a one-to-one to sort out questions.

Week 3

Practice and feedback on the 2018 paper:

Thursday 9th May

Virgil: lines 80-96

Friday 10th May

Cicero:236-252

Note: I have more Ovid unseens if you want them.


Week 2

Monday 29th April

Last lines of Virgil: discussion; write a commentary (exam-style) in 10 minutes. Finish off scansion and case recognition exercise for Thursday. Hand in to me if you want feedback. Work hard on vocabulary for Thursday.

Thursday 2nd May

Unseen (exam conditions)

Friday 3rd May

Last section of Cicero: discussion and commentary (exam-style) for 10 minutes.

Give out final booklet of 10 unseens of various genres of Ovid)


Week 1

Thursday 25th April

Ovid unseen: Virgil scansion.

Friday 26th April

Virgil, last section: lines 682-718


Easter vacation


Week 10

Monday 11th March

Virgil: in detail 306-324. Please let me know if there are tricky bits you want help on from 325-348(I will go through 330-332: otherwise, email me to let me know, please). From Friday. we will read 639-681. Please prepare in the way we discussed today so we can make better progress.

Thursday 14th March

Check unseens 37 and 38. Check on verse vocabulary. Give out booklet of unseens to complete over the vacation. Initial scansion: answers

Friday 15th April

639-681


Week 9

Monday 4th March

Virgil Session 5: lines 245-264

Technicalities and techniques of scansion - see handout. For Friday: prepare to 314.

Thursday 7th March

Go through the unseens 9 and 36. Virgil 265-273. For next Thursday: unseens 37 and 38. Remember to continue work on verse vocabulary!

Friday 8th March

Virgil session 273-314.


Week 8

Monday 26th February

Virgil Session 3: lines 147-179, text

Thursday 28th February

Check unseen (terque manu permulsit), and go through ceperat hic alias.

Friday 1st March

Virgil Session IV: 222-245


Week 7

Monday 18th February

Vergil Session 1: lines 1-26.

Thursday 21st February

Verse patterns; pp test and verse vocabulary; Ovid unseen limen ut intravit. For next Thursday: vocabulary work; written out (alternate lines) translation of terque manu permulsit.

Friday 22nd February

Virgil Session 2: lines 80-110.


Week 5

Monday 4th February

Cicero: session 7: as far as line 260 (session 7 in right hand column on this page)

Thursday 7th February

PP test recipere to tacere. Return of comment questions. Introduction to the Aeneid.

Friday 8th February

Final session of Cicero from line 260 to 303.


Week 4

Monday 28th January 2019

Cicero

Thursday 31st January

quominus and quon; historic present and historic infinitive. PP quiz. For next Thursday pp quiz: recipere to tacere (as on printed list).

Friday 1st February

Cicero: as far as line l.221 (statueret quod videretur). For Monday, perpare to around l.256 (commovebere).

Recent PowerPoints of texts now uploaded - see right habd of page under Verres.

Week 3

Monday 21st January

Cicero 4 as far as line 100.

Thursday 24th January

Review progress of syntax; feedback on module assessment; impersonal gerundives of obligation; first look at the three uses of quin/quominus. Handouts area available outside my office. Look at these, fill in detail from Morwood, and make clear notes for yourself. Learn 2nd group of pps (placere - invenire)

Friday 25th January

Cicero 101 to 145. (Monday: from 166)


Week 2

Monday 14th January

Cicero, section 2; pp test.

Thursday 17th January

Gerunds and gerundives

PP1, PP2, PP3

Friday 18th January

Cicero, section 3


Week 1

Monday: exam, no class

Thursday 11th January 2019

Handout: specifcation of language: mark this up for what you are confident about, think you haven't met etc. Introduction to the in Verrem: background and how to go about it.

Friday 11th January

Section 1:


Week 10

Monday 3rd December

Pepetua 11 dum gestamur -13 (end). Prepare for 18-20 (new sheet given out).

Thursday 6th December

pp test first 30 (as far as inquit). conditional clauses (si and nisi); because and although with indicative/subjunctive.


Week 9

Monday 26th November

Writing out verb synopsis.

Perpetua, chapters 7-9.

Thursday 29th November

cum, dum, verbs of fearing. Nested clauses

Perpetua 10-11.


Week 8

Monday 19th November

Perpetua to end of Chapter 5. Analysis of constructions in early part of Perpetua.

Thursday 22nd November

Subjunctives; reported (indirect) questions. For next Thursday: check agere; practice doing for other verbs; do the reported question sheet; use Sphinx drill; finish off Ex 30 analysis questions and check your answers.

Friday 23rd November

Perpetua, Chapter 6 to end of 1st paragraph of Chapter 7. Prepare for pp test (first 20) and prepare text to end of 9 (as above). Much better from some today: well done! Others need to be more precise.


Week 7

Monday 12th November

Start Perpetua; give out 'clean text' version of Perpetua. Vocab quiz on chapter 29. Principal parts sheet - for the rest of term, divided up into sessions. Discsussion of first four (esse to facere).

For Thursday:

  • prepare Perpetua to the end of p.8 (in nomine Iesu Christi)
  • learn 1st four principal parts (esse, posse, videre, facere)
Thursday 14th November

Perpetua pages 6 and 8.

Friday 16th November

Part two of Convivium. Please prepare Perpetua to the end of Chapter 5, and do the exercises given out during the class.


Week 5

Monday 29th October

Well remembered with the jussive subjunctive! Vocabulary test on Capitulum 28 (see here for scan). Revision of how all the tenses are formed. Part 2 of necesse est nāvigāre.

For Thursday:

  • continue with last set of exercises and check answers.
  • read rest of lectio secunda. Think about num and other question words that are followed by the subjunctive mood. Come prepared with a list of questions!
  • cum as meaning when, but now meaning 'since' and followed by the subjunctive.
Thursday 1st November

Questions form Part 2. Lectio tertia of necesse est nāvigāre.

Friday 2nd November

Start Convivium, Chapter XXX, scaena prima.

For 12th November:

  • prepare Perpetua as far as line 15 on page 6.
  • prepare for vocabulary quiz on 29


Week 4

Monday 22nd October

Part 2 of Perīcula maris. List of vocabulary for 28. For Thursday: go through part 2 three or four times. Do not write out a translation. Get on top of vocabulary for Chapters 27 and 28, check carefully last sheet of exercises.

Thursday 25th October

(delayed) Quiz on vocabulary Capitulum 27. Final part of 28. For Friday/Monday: exercises as given out. They can be checked here.

Friday 26 October

Part 1, necesse est nāvigāre. Jussive subjunctives


Week 3

Monday 15th October

Vocabulary test on Chapter 25. Looking formation of present subjunctive and varieties of usage. Detailed look at res rusticae lines 50-114 and list examples. ut as meaning 'to' or 'that'.

For Thursday:

sheet of written exercises: check your answers here.The first page contains helpful hints!

learn sheet of essential vocabulary for Chapter 26, and take in as much of the rest as you can (listed pages 209-210). Quiz on Friday.

Thursday 18th October

Present subjunctive sheet, plus pars tertia capituli XXVII. Essential vocabulary for this chapter.

Friday 19th October

Start Capitulum 28 pericula maris. Imperfect subjunctive. Return of previous vocabulary quiz.

Look carefully at vocabulary of Chapter 27, quiz on Monday, and have a go at the sheet

(check here).


Week 2

Monday 8th
  • Explicit consideration of deponent imperatives and objective genitives.
  • Quick summary of topics revised in Capitulum XXV (see sheet).
  • First part of Daedalus and Icarus.

For next time (Thursday)

  • Do the Pēnsa A, B and C of Capitulum 25. We will hear Pēnsa C on Thursday.
  • Check once more on the new/revision items in XXV.
  • Learn as much of the vocabulary as you can.
  • Read through Part 1 of Capitulum XXVI. Look at the new grammar if you like to have an overview in advance.
Thursday 11th

moenia Cracoviae

certāmen (quiz) on 25

Capitulum 26 - remainder: quick explanation of gerunds (see summary sheet)

For Friday: read through 26,

  • get going on vocabulary.
  • watch the guide (Latine) to Wroclaw and see how much you can work out.
Friday 12th October

Check on ending of Daedalus and Icarus

Introduction to the subjunctive and formation of the present subjunctive.

Second part of res rusticae.

For Monday:

  • Finish off part 2 for Monday: have list of questions;
  • vocabulary test on Daedalus and Icarus.

Week 1

Thursday 4th October

Outline course. Last year's vocabulary handout. Start Capitulum 25, Familia Romana: Theseus et Minotaurus.

For Friday: Read through fabula several times, prioritise new vocabulary. Start filling gaps.

Friday 5th October

Chapter 25 Familia Romana to end.

On-line dictionaries

Latin-dictionary.net - simple, clear

Logeion - very detailed, but easy to use

Forcellini -Totius Latinitatis Lexicon even more extensive than the OLD

Spinx verb testing

Unseens:

word patterns

Perpetua:

Perpetua full text

'Ovid' vocabulary:

list by category

alphabetical list

quizlet

In Verrem:

Booklet

Vocabulary

Session 3 21st January

Session 4 25th January

Session 5 28th January

Session 6 1st February

Session 7 4th February

Aeneid 3:

Plain text for revision 2019