Skip to main content

20 Point Mark Scale

All Honours level essays are sample moderated. This means the marker will choose 25% (at random across class marks) of the essays they have marked to be passed to a moderator.

All Honours level exams are moderated. This means every exam will have two members of academic staff looking at your exam and agreeing a mark.

All Honours marks are provisional until they are approved by the Final Year Examination Board and may be subject to change.

20 Point Marking Scale

Your work will be marked using the University’s 20 point marking scale, with reference to the Department's marking descriptors.

This scale has 20 mark (or grade) points on it; each of which falls into one of the five classes of performance which correspond to the overall degree classification. The University uses these classes of performance for all of its undergraduate modules.

Mark Range Class Performance

70-100 First Class

60-69 Second Class, Upper Division (also referred to as "Upper Second" or "2.1")

50-59 Second Class, Lower Division (also referred to as "Lower Second" or "2.2")

40-49 Third Class

0-39 Fail

The Department of English and Comparative Literary Studies has generic descriptors for work which is given a mark that falls within the range(s) of marks in each to the class. So, there is a description for work in the Upper Second class range, another for work in the Lower Second class range etc.

The mark which each piece of your work will be given is dependent upon the extent to which the work satisfies the elements in the generic descriptors.

For the purposes of the 20 point mark scale, each of the five classes is further subdivided into the positions shown in this table (high 2.1, mid 2.1 etc).

One of the 20 mark points is assigned to each of the subdivisions.

The person marking your work will consider your work alongside the generic criteria to decide which class of performance the work falls into. The marker will then determine the extent to which your work meets the criteria in order to arrive at a judgment about the position (high, mid, low) within the class. The work will be awarded the mark assigned to the relevant position in the class.

If a module has more than one ‘unit’ (or piece) of assessment, (e.g. the assessment comprises two assessed essays), the mark for each unit is determined using the 20 point mark scale and then the marks are averaged, taking account of the units’ respective weightings, in order to produce the module result. This is expressed as a percentage (and therefore may be any number up to 100 and so is not limited to one of the 20 marks on the scale).