Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Professor Maureen Freely

Profile picture


Email: maureen dot freely at warwick dot ac dot uk
Tel: +44 (0)24 7652 3348

University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL


Professor Maureen Freely has worked with the Warwick Writing Programme since 1996. Currently the Head of the Department of English and Comparative Literary Studies, she is, as President of English PEN, active in various national and international campaigns to champion free expression. As the former chair of the Translators Association, she also works with campaigns aiming to promote world literature in English translation.

Research interests

She is the author of seven novels (Mother’s Helper, The Life of the Party, The Stork Club, Under the Vulcania, The Other Rebecca, Enlightenment, and - most recently - Sailing through Byzantium) as well as three works of non-fiction (Pandora's Clock, What About Us? An Open Letter to the Mothers Feminism Forgot, and The Parent Trap).

The translator of five books by the Turkish Nobel laureate Orhan Pamuk (Snow, The Black Book, Istanbul: Memories of a City, Other Colours and The Museum of Innocence), she has also translated or co-translated a number of memoirs, biographies, rising stars and 20th century classics. Her translation with Alexander Dawe of The Time Regulation Institute by Ahmet Hamdi Tanpinar, was awarded the Modern Languages Association Lois Roth Award for a Translation of a Literary Work.

She has been a regular contributor to the Guardian, the Observer, the Independent and the Sunday Times for three decades, writing on feminism, family and social policy, Turkish culture and politics, and contemporary writing.

Teaching and supervision

Selected publications


  • Mother’s Helper (1979)
  • The Life of the Party (1985)
  • The Stork Club (1991)
  • Under the Vulcania (1994)
  • The Other Rebecca (1996)
  • Enlightenment (2007)
  • Sailing through Byzantium (2013)


  • Pandora’s Clock: Understanding Our Fertility and What About Us? (1993)
  • What About Us? An Open Letter to the Mothers Feminism Forgot (1995)
  • The Parent Trap (2000)


  • Snow (2004), Istanbul: Memories of a City (2005), The Black Book (2006), Other Colours (2008), and The Museum of Innocence (2010), all by Orhan Pamuk
  • My Grandmother, by Fethiye Çetin (2008)
  • The Time Regulation Institute by Ahmet Hamdi Tanpınar (with Alexander Dawe) (2013)
  • The Grandchildren, by Fethiye Çetin and Ayşe Gül Altinay (2014)
  • A Useless Man, by Sait Faik Abasiyanik (with Alexander Dawe) (2014)
  • Reckless, by Hasan Ali Toptaş (with John Angliss) (2015)
  • Hrant: A Biography by Tuba Çandar (2015)
  • The Well of Trapped Words: Collected Stories by Sema Kaygusuz (2015)
  • Madonna in a Fur Coat, by Sabahattin Ali (with Alexander Dawe) (2016)


  • AB (Harvard)

Office hours

By appointment