Skip to main content Skip to navigation

ECLS Research seminar

We run a series of seminars intended to provide a forum for discussion of literary research projects underway both within and outside of the department. The programme timetable and schedule changes annually.

 
 
Thu 14 Nov, '19
-
Medieval Research Seminar
H5.45 Humanities Building

Elizabeth Robertson of the University of Glasgow will speak on 'Soul-making in Piers Plowman'.

Wed 27 Nov, '19
-
Research Seminar - Dr. Caitlin Vandertop
H5.45

“Oceania in the world-literary system: Epeli
Hau‘ofa’s peripheral irrealism”

Tue 3 Dec, '19
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - public talk
S0.11, Social Studies Building

Rachel Bowlby (Dept of Comparative Literature, UCL)

“Unnatural Resources: Changing Arguments and Reproductive Technologies”

Wed 4 Dec, '19
-
ECLS Inaugural Lecture
OCO.04 Oculus Building

Professor Whitehead will deliver the first Inaugural
Professorial Lecture in English and Comparative Literary
Studies.

Fri 6 Dec, '19
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - Workshop and Conference
See link for more details

Speakers:

Clare Carlisle Tresch (Philosophy & Theology, KCL)

Patrick Fessenbecker (Cultures, Civilizations and Ideas, Bilkent)

Rebecca Gould (Islamic World & Comp Lit, Birmingham)

John Rignall (English & Comp Lit, Warwick)

Tue 14 Jan, '20
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - public talk
S0.11, Social Studies Building

Naomi Waltham-Smith (Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies, Warwick)

“Homofaunie: Non-Human Tonalities of Listening in Derrida and Cixous”

Tue 28 Jan, '20
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - public talk
S0.11, Social Studies Building

Josh Robinson (School of English, Communications, Philosophy, Cardiff)

“Crisis in Theory”

 

Sat 15 Feb, '20
-
LITERATURE AND THE EVENT: REFORMULATIONS OF THE LITERARY IN THE 21ST CENTURY
See link for further details

Speakers:

Derek Attridge (English & Related Literature, York)
Esther Leslie (Political Aesthetics, Birkbeck)

Fri 21 Feb, '20 - Sat 22 Feb, '20
All-day
RESONANCE: A SOCIAL THEORY FOR THE GOOD LIFE
TBC

Runs from Friday, February 21 to Saturday, February 22.

Speakers:

Hartmut Rosa (Sociology, Jena University/Max Weber Kolleg Erfurt)
Daniel Hartley (World Literatures, Durham)

Irina Hron, (German Studies, Vienna University/Gothenburg University)

Tue 25 Feb, '20
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - public talk
S0.11, Social Studies Building

Kate Soper (Philosophy, University of Brighton/London Metropolitan University)

“The Dialectics of Progress: Towards a Post-Growth Aesthetic and Politics of Prosperity”

 

Tue 10 Mar, '20
-
Centre for Research in Philosophy, Literature & the Arts - public talk
S0.11, Social Studies Building

James MacDowell (Dept of Film & TV, Warwick)

“Regarding YouTube as Art”

Wed 29 Apr, '20
-
Santiago Zabala, Being at Large: Freedom in the Age of Alternative Facts
IAS Seminar Room, Zeeman

Lecture from Professor Zabala and book launch

Fri 19 Jun, '20 - Sat 20 Jun, '20
All-day
BLOOD ON THE LEAVES / AND BLOOD AT THE ROOTS: RECONSIDERING FORMS OF ENSLAVEMENT AND SUBJECTION ACROSS DISCIPLINES
TBC

Runs from Friday, June 19 to Saturday, June 20.

Speakers:

TBC

Thu 25 Jun, '20
Historicist Poetics conference
OCO.01 Oculus Building

More details to follow!