Skip to main content

Student Prizes

In 2009-10 the School of Theatre, Performance and Cultural Policy Studies was delighted to announce the introduction of two annual awards, The Clive Barker Award for Performance and The Theatre and Performance Studies Student Prize.

The Clive Barker Award for Performance


This award is designed to provide practical and financial support for Theatre and Performance Studies students who plan to create a piece of extra-curricular performance work in the School with a view to submitting this work to the Edinburgh Festival or a similar public platform. The recipients of this award will receive up to £600 to help mount the work and will be given access to rehearsal space and technical support (subject to availability and a maximum amount of 15 hours of technical support) to realise the project. It is anticipated that projects will be developed over the Easter break, post-summer exams and/or in the early stages of the summer break.
2009-10: Fever Chart (Cara Verkek, Lydia Rynne, Caitlin Ince, Pascale Barget and Katy Fahy)
2010-11: Photo Album (Claudia Goss, Hannah Rawson, Olivia Lamont, Abbie McCarthy, Holly Parker)
2011-12: How Much is Your Iron? (Ben Bowowiecki, Judith Durkin, Anna Murray)
2012-13: Take Care (Sam McLaughlin, Zoe Templeman-Young, Cathy Lynch)
2013-14: Wastwater (Samuel Wightman, Jamie Wright, Juliet Clarke)
2014-15: Mr Poe’s Legendarium (Sam George, Sam Thorogood, Oscar Owen, Christina Owen, Alex Wallis, Tim Chow)
2015-6: The Murderer (Christina Owen, Sam Thorogood, Sam George)
2016-7: Celebration (Ben Kulvichit, Emily Davis, Clara Potter-Sweet)

Giving to Warwick Awards

Theatre and Performance Studies Student Prize 

This prize will be awarded annually to the 3rd year student who demonstrates the best all round contribution to the School through their attitude to study, academic achievement and commitment to the School environment through their willingness to support School activities and their peers.
The recipient of this prize will be decided at the final year exam board and announced at the finalist lunch.
2009-10: Caitlin McLeod
2010-11: Luke Robert Mason
2011-12: Judith Durkin
2012-13: Fiona Joseph
2013-14: Susannah Sillett
2014-15: Paige Davies / Sam Wightman
2015-16: Sophie Upcraft / Oscar Owen
2016-17: Rebekah Hesmondhalgh

Theatre and Performance Studies Research Project Prize

This prize will be awarded annually to the 3rd year student who, in the opinion of the final year exam board, has produced the most outstanding piece of research in their final year.
2009-10: Simon Ferdinand
2010-11: Gwilym Lawrence
2011-12: Andrea Niada / Holly Webley-Naylor
2012-13: Josh Goulding / Mia Lake
2013-14: Arthur Jones
2014-15: Ella Hawkins
2015-16: Olivia Hayes
2016-17: Georgina Anderson

Call for Applications

Clive Barker Award for Performance 2017-18
Up to £600 plus technical support and rehearsal space for an extra-curricular performance work by students in the department. The winning applications for the last three years can be found below, as a guide to applicants:


To enter this year, please read the submission guidelines in the Call for Applications link above and submit your entry by email to A dot Lavender at warwick dot ac dot uk by 4pm Friday 10th February 2017

Undergraduate Research Support Scheme

Bursaries of up to £1000 to allow undergraduate students to undertake a short (4 to 10 week) research project within a department or research centre.
Apply here