Skip to main content

About Warwick Prize for Writing

The University of Warwick has announced a new partnership to replace the Warwick Prize for Writing.

The Warwick Prize for Writing was an innovative literature prize that was awarded between 2009 and 2015. It was awarded every two years for an excellent and substantial piece of writing in the English language.

In 2009 the winner of the inaugural Prize was announced as Naomi Klein for The Shock Doctrine. The second Warwick Prize for Writing was awarded to Peter Forbes for his work Dazzled and Deceived: Mimicry and Camouflage and the 2013 Prize was awarded to Alice Oswald for her poem, Memorial. Phil Klay was named the winner of the Warwick Prize for Writing 2015 for his short story collection, Redeployment.

The Prize was an extension of Warwick's commitment to the nurture and support of literary work, emerging writing talent and the creative industries. We are home to the acclaimed Warwick Writing Programme, which includes renowned authors such as Ian Sansom, Jonathan Skinner, Maureen Freely as well as Prize Co-Director Sarah Moss. In 2014 the programme was voted number one for creative writing by The Times and The Sunday Times.

Each winner of the Warwick Prize received the opportunity to take up a short placement at the University of Warwick where they encouraged and inspired the next generation of literary talent.