Skip to main content

2009 Judging Panel


The Judging Panel of the inaugural Warwick Prize for Writing was chaired by China Miéville, award-winning writer of what he describes as ‘weird fiction’. Professor Ian Stewart, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick, the author Maureen Freely, the journalist Maya Jaggi and the literary blogger Stephen Mitchelmore completed the Judging Panel.

The Judging Panel announced the longlist on 13 November 2008 followed the shortlist of six titles on 22 January 2009 and the winner on 24 February 2009.

China Miéville, Chair of The Warwick Prize for Writing Judging Panel

China Miéville was born in 1972, and is an award-winning writer of fiction and non-fiction. He is twice winner of the Arthur C Clarke Award, and of the British Fantasy Award. His fiction includes 'Perdido Street Station', 'Iron Council', and 'Un Lun Dun', a book for younger readers. His non-fiction includes 'Between Equal Rights', a study of international law.

He has a degree in Social Anthropology from Cambridge, and an MSc and PhD in International Relations from the London School of Economics. He is an Honorary Research Fellow at Birckbeck School of Law, and Associate Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Warwick.

China Mieville

Maureen Freely

Maureen Freely was born in the US but grew up in Turkey, where her family still lives. She was educated at Radcliffe College (Harvard University) and has made her home in England for the past twenty-four years. She is the author of six novels - Mother’s Helper (1979), The Life of the Party (1985), The Stork Club (1992) Under the Vulcania (1994), The Other Rebecca (1996) and Enlightenment (2007) as well as three works of non-fiction - Pandora's Clock (1993), What About Us? An Open Letter to the Mothers Feminism Forgot (1995) and The Parent Trap (2000). She has been a regular contributor to the Guardian, the Observer, the Independent and the Sunday Times for two decades, writing on feminism, family and social policy, Turkish culture and politics, and contemporary writing. For the past twelve years she has been the deputy director of the writing programme at the University of Warwick. She is perhaps best known for her translations of Snow, The Black Book, and Istanbul: Memories of a City by the Turkish novelist and Nobel laureate Orhan Pamuk.


Maya Jaggi

Maya Jaggi is an award-winning critic and arts journalist who writes regularly for the Guardian newspaper as a longstanding profile writer and reviewer for Saturday Review, as well as for other national newspapers including the Sunday Times Culture magazine, the Independent, Financial Times and Daily Telegraph, and periodicals including New Statesman, TLS, Index on Censorship, International PEN and BookForum (New York). An influential voice on world literature in the British media, she is a frequent presenter at arts venues, and contributes to radio and television; she wrote and presented the BBC TV documentary Isabel Allende: The Art of Reinvention (2003). Some of her interviews appear in the books Lives and Works (2002), and Writing Across Worlds (2004).

On the jury of the 2009 David Cohen prize for literature, she has been a judge of other awards including the 2007 Orange prize for fiction, Guardian fiction prize, Commonwealth writers' prize, Arts Council England writers' awards, Caine prize, Saif-Ghobash Banipal prize and Amnesty International media awards. Educated at Oxford University and the London School of Economics, she is now an Associate Fellow of Warwick University in the History department, a former executive member of English PEN, and current member of its Writers in Prison committee.

Maya Jaggi

Stephen Mitchelmore

Stephen Mitchelmore became Britain's first book blogger eight years ago and has been called "the finest writer in the literary blogosphere". He has had reviews published in the Times Literary Supplement, the Jewish Quarterly, PN Review, the Washington Post and online at Ready Steady Book. He lives in Brighton.


Ian Stewart

Ian Stewart was born in 1945 and educated at Cambridge and Warwick. He is an active research mathematician working on pattern formation and chaos theory, and a Fellow of the Royal Society. He has written over 60 books including 'Does God Play Dice?', 'Life's Other Secret', 'What Shape is a Snowflake?', and 'Why Beauty is Truth'. With Terry Pratchett and Jack Cohen he wrote the bestselling series 'The Science of Discworld'.

His books 'Nature's Numbers' and 'Why Beauty is Truth' were shortlisted for the Science Book Prize. His awards include the Royal Society's Faraday Medal for furthering the public understanding of science, the Gold Medal of the Institute for Mathematics and Its Applications, and the Public Understanding of Science and Technology Award of the AAAS. He appears frequently on radio and television, and presented the 1997 Royal Institution Christmas Lectures for the BBC.