Skip to main content

The Wasted Vigil

About the Book

A Russian woman Lara, arrives in Afghanistan at the house of English widower Marcus Caldwell searching for clues about her brother’s disappearance. In the days that follow, she is joined by two Americans, a young Afghan teacher, Dunia, and Casa, a radicalised young man. As their paths cross, it becomes apparent their stories are inextricably linked.

The Wasted Vigil engages with the troubled history and landscape of Afghanistan over the past two decades, and its impact on the lives of six very different characters whose fates are tied together. This is a compelling, passionate and haunting novel, both an unflinching portrait of war and a heartbreaking love story. It is a brave and important book with a breathtaking narrative that marks Nadeem Aslam as a world writer of major importance.

The Wasted Vigil
About the Author

Nadeem Aslam’s first novel Season of the Rainbirds (1993), was described by Salman Rushdie as ‘one of the most impressive first novels of recent years.’ Maps for Lost Lovers (2004) was hailed by Boyd Tonkin in the Independent as ‘the most gorgeously written British novel of the year’, and became one of the most critically acclaimed novels of 2004. It was long-listed for the Booker Prize 2004, short-listed for the IMPAC Prize 2006 and won the Kiriyama Prize 2005 and the Encore Award 2005. He was also named Decibel Writer of the Year in 2005. Born in Pakistan, he now lives in England.

Nadeem Aslam