Skip to main content

Young Writer of the Year Award

Young Writer of the Year Award

We've partnered with The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser + Dunlop to support and nurturing the country’s young writing talent through the Young Writer of the Year Award.

The award is presented annually to the best work of published or self-published fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35. The winner will receive £5,000, with three runner-ups receiving £500.

As part of the prize, the winner will gain a 10-week residency at Warwick, having the opportunity to run inspiring events and provide a year-round programme of support for alumni of the award and the year’s shortlist.

The winner will also have the support of a Programme Coordinator who will help them in planning and setting up their residency.

Update: October 27th: British Council becomes international partner of The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award
The Young Writer of the Year Award, has announced the British Council as its international partner. The agreement, which follows the association with the University of Warwick, is another step for the award, which is open to writers from the UK and Ireland, to become the definitive platform for young writing in both countries.
In its role as international partner the British Council – which works with over 100 countries across the world in the fields of arts and culture, English language, education and civil society – will be supporting shortlisted writers in exploring international opportunities that will inspire them for the rest of their careers. Through the partnership, the organisation will pursue travel opportunities for the shortlisted writers, and provide access to its network and exposure to international audiences through its online platforms, which reach more than 500 million people each year.

Read more in the full press release

For more information

Press release


Freeflow festival

Find out more about our campus festival

Freeflow public programme


Read the latest thought pieces from our academics:

Chantal Wright on translation (in conversation with Gonzalo

Opportunities for new writers in a changed marketplace

Maureen Freely

Shortlist 2017

Find out more about the five shortlisted writers for this year's prize

Judges 2017

Find out more about who will be judging this year's Young Writer of the Year Award.

Young Writer Award

Visit the official website for the Young Writer of the Year Award to keep up to date with the latest news.

Warwick Writing Programme

The Warwick Writing Programme – an internationally-acclaimed programme drawing authors, students and staff from across the world.

Warwick Prize for Women in Translation

The inaugural winner was announced as Memoirs of a Polar Bear by Yoko Tawada. Read more