Skip to main content

Judging Panel Announced for the 2013 Warwick Prize for Writing

The Warwick Prize for WritingThe University of Warwick, in association with Monash University in Melbourne, has today (Thursday 8 November 2012) announced the three judges for the 2013 prize: Professor Ian Sansom of the Department of English and Comparative Literary Studies at the University of Warwick, who will chair the panel, acclaimed writer Marina Warner CBE, and Professor Ed Byrne, Vice-Chancellor and President of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia.

Professor Ian Sansom said today:

The Warwick Prize for Writing is unique. There is nothing quite like it anywhere else in the world. Unfettered and unconfined, it acknowledges and rewards great writing of any kind, in any discipline, from anywhere. With my fellow judges I’m looking forward to discovering the best new work by writers in all areas of human knowledge. The winner of the prize might be a work of science. It might be a work of fiction. It might be a work of science-fiction. Like Matthew Arnold, we are simply seeking the best that has been thought and said."

The coveted £25,000 prize, run by the University of Warwick, was launched in 2008 and is awarded once every two years. It stands apart from other literary prizes as an international cross-disciplinary biennial award, open to substantial pieces of writing in the English language, in any genre or format.

For the first time, the nominations process will be now expanded to include nominations from Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. The Director of the Warwick Prize for Writing, Professor David Morley, said today:

Two values at the heart of The Warwick Prize for Writing are that all writing, at its best, is creative writing, and that writing is an act of community. By expanding the nominations process, The Warwick Prize for Writing is more global than ever. Its community is the world of writing and writers from any discipline or medium.”

Professor Ed Byrne, Vice-Chancellor and President of Monash University commented:

This is just another example of the exciting initiatives being developed through the Warwick-Monash Alliance. It is a truly global competition that crosses all disciplines and provides entrants with an international platform from which to showcase their written talent.”

Naomi Klein was the inaugural winner of the prize in 2009, for her book The Shock Doctrine, an exposé of how from a privileged few are making millions from worldwide disasters, and Peter Forbes won the prize in 2011 for Dazzled and Deceived, a fascinating story of mimicry and camouflage in nature, art and warfare.

Submissions for the Warwick Prize for Writing 2013 are now open, and all staff and students at the University of Warwick and Monash University are invited to make a nomination by the end of March 2013. A longlist of up to 15 titles will be announced in May 2013, followed by a shortlist of six titles in June/July 2013. The winner will be announced in August/September 2013.