Skip to main content

Our Students

slideshow_5.jpg

Cohort 1, PhD Year 3

Sam Cobb


PhD Title: Development of Smart Diamond Windows for Electrochemical Sensing in Real Environments
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Julie MacPherson
Institution: University of Warwick

samuel.cobb@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Phil Diggle
SSLC Rep

Outreach Committee

PhD Title: Single Defect Imaging Studies of the synthesis and processing of diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Mark Newton
Institution: University of Warwick

p.diggle@warwick.ac.uk

http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/dst/people/warwick_supervisors.png

Brani Dzepina

DST Retreat Committee

PhD Title: Influence of catalyst binder chemistry on the microstructure of polycrystalline diamond during liquid phase sintering
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Daniele Dini & Dr. Daniel Balint
Institution: Imperial College London

b.dzepina15@imperial.ac.uk

imperial_supervisors.png

Paul Hill

Strathclyde Student Lead

PhD Title: Heterogeneous integration of diamond photonic devices on non-native substrates
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Erdan Gu & Dr. Michael Strain
Institution: University of Strathclyde

paul.hill@strath.ac.uk

strathclyde_supervisors.png

Ryan Lewis

PhD Title: Novel multiphoton microscopy of living cells using nanodiamonds
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Paola Borri
Institution: Cardiff University

LewisR38@Cardiff.ac.uk

cardiff_supervisor.png

Ed Mahoney

Bristol Student Lead

PhD Title: Understanding microwave-activated hydrogen(/methane/silane)-containing plasmas through optical diagnostic techniques
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Mike Ashfold
Institution: University of Bristol

em15071@bristol.ac.uk 

bristol_supervisors.png

Callum Middleton

PhD Title: Diamond and Diamond-GaN Integration: Thermal Challenges
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Martin Kuball
Institution: University of Bristol

cm1720@bristol.ac.uk

bristol_supervisors.png

Enrik Nako

DST Retreat Committee

PhD Title: Hydrogen in diamond: Defects and Diffusion
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Mark Newton
Institution: University of Warwick

E.Nako@Warwick.Ac.Uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Ben Reed

Aberystwyth Student Lead

PhD Title: Diamond-graphene interfaces
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Andy Evans
Institution: Aberystwyth University

bpr3@aber.ac.uk

aber_supervisors.png

Tom Scott

PhD Title: Influence of binders on microstructure and mechanical properties of polycrystalline diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Richard Todd
Institution: University of Oxford

Thomas.scott@materials.ox.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png

Cohort 2, PhD Year 2

Johnathan Ash

PhD Title: Surface Effects in Light Emission from Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Andy Evans
Institution: Aberystwyth University

Joa30@aber.ac.uk

aber_supervisors.png
Ella Bentin

PhD Title: Electrochemical sensing of endocrine disruptors
PhD Supervisor: Prof. John Foord
Institution: University of Oxford

ella.bentin@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png

Alex Borrill

DST Retreat Committee


PhD Title: Engineered Diamond for Spectroelectrochemistry
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Julie Macpherson
Institution: University of Warwick

A.J.Borrill@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Joseph Durk

DST Retreat Committee


PhD Title: Spectroscopy studies of Polycrystalline Cubic Boron Nitride Materials (cBN) to build Behaviour Models in selected Precision Machining Applications
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Andy Evans
Institution: Aberystwyth University

jad70@aber.ac.uk

aber_supervisors.png

Lukasz Dziechciarczyk

Outreach Committee

PhD Title: Diamond Lasers: The Direct use of Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Alan Kemp
Institution: University of Strathclyde

lukasz.dziechciarczyk@strath.ac.uk

strathclyde_supervisors.png

Fabian Fogarty

PhD Title: Studies of the Thermionic and Field Emmision from Chemically Modified CVD Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Paul May
Institution: Bristol University

fs16605@bristol.ac.uk

bristol_supervisors.png

Josh Green

PhD Title: Nanodiamond for Micro-electro-mechanical Systems (MEMS)
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Oliver Williams
Institution: Cardiff University

GreenJ19@cardiff.ac.uk

cardiff_supervisor.png

Shazeaa Ishmael

Oxford Student Lead

SSLC Rep

PhD Title: Freeing the NV Qubit with an Efficient Quantum Optical Interface
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Jason Smith
Institution: University of Oxford

shazeaa.ishmael@lincoln.ox.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png

Robin Laurence

Outreach Committee


PhD Title: Effects of Strain Rates, Loading Directions and Fatigue on Impact Behaviour of Polycrystalline Diamond Cutters
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Richard Todd
Institution: University of Oxford

robin.laurence@materials.ox.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png

Maabur Sow

PhD Title: Single-Molecule Imaging of Protein-Dna Interactions Using Fluorescent Nanodiamonds
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Achillefs N. Kapanidis
Institution: University of Oxford

maabur.sow@physics.ox.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png

Guy Stimpson

PhD Title: Nitrogen-Vacancy Qubit Experiments in High Magnetic Fields
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Gavin Morley
Institution: University of Warwick

G.Stimpson.1@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Amber Wassell

PhD Title: Time Resolved Spectroscopy of Colour Centres in Diamond for Quantum Technologies
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Stephen Lynch
Institution: Cardiff University

wassellam1@cardiff.ac.uk

cardiff_supervisor.png

Jacob Wood

Outreach Committee

PhD Title: Hydrogen in natural diamonds: How much, how is it incorporated and what can it tell us about diamond growth environments?
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Simon Kohn
Institution: Bristol University

jw16508@bristol.ac.uk

bristol_supervisors.png

Cohort 3, PhD Year 1

Daniel Coxon

PhD Title: A study of the relaxation dynamics of local vibrational modes associated with hydrogen in diamond
PhD Supervisor: Dr Vas Stavros, Dr James Lloyd-Hughes and Prof. Mark Newton
Institution: University of Warwick

d.j.l.coxon@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Jamie Friel

PhD Title: Processing and controlling quantum information in NV centre architectures
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Animesh Datta
Institution: University of Warwick

J.Friel@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Luke Johnson

PhD Title: Smart Sensor Technologies for Diamond/cBN Tools
PhD Supervisor:
Dr Stuart Barnes and Prof Mark Newton
Institution:
University of Warwick

Luke.Johnson@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Daniel Jones

PhD Title: Multidimensional Imaging and Spectroscopy of Diamond Optical Properties of Large-Area CVD Diamond
PhD Supervisors: Prof. Paul French and Dr Chris Dunsby
Institution: Imperial College London

d.jones17@imperial.ac.uk

imperial_supervisors.png

Fraser Laidlaw

PhD Title: Electron Microscopy of Dislocations and Vacancy Clusters in Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Ana Sanchez and Dr Richard Beanland
Institution: University of Warwick

F.Laidlaw@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Scott Manifold

PhD Title: Superconducting diamond growth for Quantum Bits
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Oliver Williams
Institution: Cardiff University

S.Manifold@warwick.ac.uk

cardiff_supervisor.png

Claire Meara

DST Retreat Committee


PhD Title: Accurate Electronic Structure Calculations of Diamond: Quantum Dots and Defect Energies
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Jon Goss
Institution: Newcastle University

c.j.meara2@newcastle.ac.uk

newcastle_supervisor.png

Bruno Rodriguez

SSLC Rep
Warwick Student Lead

PhD Title: Optimisation and Performance of Diamond Like-Coatings for Automotive Applications
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Barbara Shollock
Institution: University of Warwick

B.Rodriguez@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Jack Smith

PhD Title: Tunable optical resonators with embedded diamond defect centres for quantum technologies
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Michael Strain
Institution: University of Strathclyde

jack.smith@strath.ac.uk

strathclyde_supervisors.png

Jovana Vukajlovic

PhD Title: Investigations of catalytic and optical behaviour of nanodiamond aerosols and thin aerosol films
PhD Supervisor: Dr. Lidija Siller
Institution: Newcastle University

j.vukajlovic2@newcastle.ac.uk

newcastle_supervisor.png

Kerry Whittlesea

Outreach Committee

DST Retreat Committee


PhD Title: Controlling surface properties of diamond for electronics and quantum technology
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Andrew Evans
Institution: University of Aberystwyth

kew21@aber.ac.uk

aber_supervisors.png
Max Williams

SSLC Rep

PhD Title: Experimental and computational studies of CVD diamond growth
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Paul May
Institution: University of Bristol

max.williams@bristol.ac.uk

bristol_supervisors.png

Georgia Wood

PhD Title: Boron Doped Diamond Micro- and Nano-Particles for Electrochemical Applications
PhD Supervisor:
Prof. Julie Macpherson
Institution:
University of Warwick

g.wood@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Jiahui Zhao

PhD Title: Fluorescence, Phosphorescence, Thermoluminescence and charge transfer in synthetic diamond
PhD Supervisor:
Prof. Mark Newton, Dr Ben Green
Institution:
University of Warwick

J.Zhao.12@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Cohort 4, MSc Year

James Brixey

PhD Title: Multiscale Modelling of the Effect of Defects on the Mechanical Properties of Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Dr James Kermode
Institution: University of Warwick

j.brixey@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png

Ryan Corbyn

PhD Title: Nanodiamond as an Optically Robust Fluorophore for Targeted Imaging of Neural Structures
PhD Supervisor: Dr Brian Patton
Institution: University of Strathclyde

R.Corbyn@Warwick.ac.uk

strathclyde_supervisors.png

Daniel Field

PhD Title: Diamond - Semiconductor Integration - The Challenge of Thermal Expansion Mismatch
PhD Supervisor: Prof Martin Kuball
Institution: University of Bristol

D.Field.1@Warwick.Ac.Uk

bristol_supervisors.png

Andrew Kirkpatrick

PhD Title: Engineering the Optical Properties of Diamond using Laser Processing
PhD Supervisor: Dr Jason Smith and Prof Martin Booth
Institution: University of Oxford

a.kirkpatrick@warwick.ac.uk

oxford_supervisors.png
Martin Lee

DST Retreat Committee

PhD Title: Compact, Diamond-Cooled and Stabilised Semiconductor Disk Lasers for Quantum Technology
PhD Supervisor: Dr Jennifer Hastie
Institution: University of Strathclyde

M.Lee.7@warwick.ac.uk

strathclyde_supervisors.png
William Leigh

SSLC Rep (MSc)

Stand alone MSc

W.Leigh@Warwick.Ac.Uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Lewis Mills

PhD Title: Spectroscopic and Imaging Studies of Defect Distributions in Natural and Synthetic Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Mark Newton
Institution: University of Warwick

L.Mills@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Jennifer Orme

DST Retreat Committee


PhD Title: Quantitative Optical Measurements on Diamond
PhD Supervisor: Prof. Mark Newton, Prof. Mike Glazer and Prof. Pam Thomas
Institution: University of Warwick

J.Orme@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Rajesh Patel

SSLC Rep


PhD Title: Magnetometry with an ensemble of nitrogen-vacancy centres in diamond
PhD Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Gavin Morley
Institution: University of Warwick

Rajesh.Patel@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png
Teena Rajan

PhD Title: Bioanalytical Applications of Diamond Electrodes
PhD Supervisor: Prof Julie Macpherson
Institution: University of Warwick

T.Rajan@warwick.ac.uk

warwick_supervisors.png


Tom Weaver

PhD Title: Light Storage in Diamond via Stimulated Brillouin Absorption
PhD Supervisor: Dr Joshua Nunn
Institution: University of Bath

T.Weaver@Warwick.ac.uk

Bath Logo_Small

Ben Woodward

PhD Title: Supporting Diamond Sensors in Extreme Environments
PhD Supervisor:
Dr. Alton Horsfall
Institution:
University of Newcastle

B.Woodward.1@warwick.ac.uk

newcastle_supervisor.png