Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Athena SWAN Self Assessment Team Profiles

Dr Joanna Collingwood (Chair) (F)

  • Joined SoE full-time in 2009 as an Assistant Professor and completed probation in 2013
  • Led SoE Research Strategy Development exercise in 2010


  • Member of the Women’s Engineering Society (WES)
  • Represents SoE at national STEMM events

Claire Algar (F)

University Diversity & Inclusion Officer
  • Provides strategic support and guidance on all Diversity and Inclusion related issues
  • Takes the lead on Athena SWAN matters
  • Supports departments on their Athena Work

Sandra Beaufoy (F)

University Diversity & Inclusion Officer
  • Provides strategic support and guidance on all Diversity and Inclusion related issues
  • Takes the lead on Athena SWAN matters
  • Supports departments on their Athena Work

Amir Ben-Romdhane (M)

Undergraduate Engineering student
  • Performed student data analysis, involved in survey design, promoted UG Survey participation

Jake Brooks (M)

PhD student in Biomedical Engineering
  • Keen outreach volunteer and STEMM ambassador
  • Former outreach co-ordinator with Engineers Without Borders at University of Birmingham (2013-2015)
  • Performed student data analysis showing trends for each discipline and degree classification as part of Athena Swan SAT, University of Warwick

Rossana Castaldo (F)

Research Fellow (PDRA)
  • Shortlisted among 10 young engineering finalists at the world Congress on Medical Physics and biomedical Engineering in 2015 and at European Medical and Biological Engineering Conference and the Nordic-Baltic Conference on biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics in 2017
  • Led analysis of students in SoE taught degree programmes


  • Member of the international Federation of Medical and biological Engineering (IFMBE)
  • Women in Medical and Biological Engineering Committee (WIMBE)
  • Italian Scientific Society for MBE

Gill Cooke (F)

Professor, Head of Teaching
  • Joined September 2016
  • Committee member UK&I Engineering Education Research Special Interest Group


  • Senior Management Committee
  • Course and Module Approval Committee (Chair)
  • Teaching Excellence Committee
  • Student Recruitment & Admissions
  • Planning Operations Committee
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Staff and Student Liaison Committee
  • Warwick Engineering Education Research Group
  • WIHEA Fellow

Carys Evans (F)

Undergraduate Civil Engineering student
  • Understanding of multiple departments – started at Warwick (in 2013) split between Mathematics and Computer Science (for 2 years)
  • Women in Engineering Scholarship Holder (Since 2015)
  • Promotes STEMM via local outreach
  • Worked on team creating student survey
  • Graduated Summer 2018 (First Class)

Julie Freemantle (F)

Academic and Student Services Manager
  • Joined the School in 2013 as a part time administrator
  • Supported by the School to undertake development and training


  • UG & PG Staff Student Liaison Committee (SSLC)
  • Course and Module Approval Committee
  • Recruitment and Admissions Committee
  • Planning Operations Committee

Rachel Grimes (F)

Executive Officer
  • Joined School in January 2016 as PA to Head of School
  • Action Plan developer and Manager, Submission Coordinator
  • Appointed as Executive Officer in March 2018
  • Keen to promote women’s contribution to engineering

Amy Hamson (F)

Senior Administrative Officer (SAO)
  • Oversight of the School’s support functions
  • Joined SoE in 2013 as a Project Officer, leading HR administration and project managing an EU research project
  • Following a restructure became Administrative Officer with oversight for HR administration and management of a team of 4 Administrative Assistants
  • Following an internal recruitment process was promoted to a secondment as Senior Administrative Officer in April 2016, this role became permanent in April 2017


  • Senior Management Team (SMT)
  • School Management Committee (SMC)
  • Technical Committee
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

Daciana Iliescu (F)

Associate Professor
  • Joined Warwick as a PhD student in 1992, then appointed as a Teaching Fellow before promotion to Assistant and then Associate Professorship; Moved to Principal Teaching Fellow in April 2018
  • Equality & Diversity (E&D) representative for SoE
  • Represented SoE at the WES National Women in Engineering Day conference 2015


  • Student Recruitment & Admissions (SRA) Committee

Georgia Kremmyda (F)

Associate Professor
  • Joined Warwick SoE in 2015 to provide leadership in SoE on curriculum development, student satisfaction and engagement, and industrial liaison
  • Director of Student Recruitment and Discipline Degree Leader (DDL)
  • Director of MSc Humanitarian Engineering
  • Management responsibility for all UG and PG taught degrees in Civil Engineering
  • Academic lead of the theme Humanitarian Engineering and Environmental Sustainability
  • Elected INWES Board Director (2017)
  • Elected WES Trustee, Council member, Director of Education (2015)
  • ECU Athena SWAN panellist (since 2015)
  • 12 years in the Civil Engineering industry in Europe, in demanding male-dominated environments


  • Student Recruitment and Admissions (Chair)
  • Science Faculty Education Committee (member)
  • Faculty of Arts Education Committee (member)
  • IATL Management Committee (member)
  • Civil Engineering Industrial Advisory Panel (member)
  • Student-Staff Liaison Committee (member)

Peter Lever (M)

Web Manager
  • Appointed in 2016
  • Responsible for the School website
  • STEMM background
  • Keen to promote women's contribution to engineering


  • Student Recruitment and Admissions Committee

Duncan Lockerby (M)

Professor, Head of Research and Deputy Head of School
  • Since September 2017


  • Research Committee (Chair)
  • Senior Management Committee (SMC)
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

Leandro Pecchia (M)

Assistant Professor
  • Appointed in 2013
  • Championing future international impact from Athena in SoE


  • Chairman of the Health Technology Assessment Division of the IFMBE
  • Chairman of the Public Affairs Working Group of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering and Sciences
  • Chairman of the EAMBES Public Affair Working Group
  • Member of IFMBE WiMBE
  • Member of the IFMBE African Working Group
  • Member of the IPEM Academic Advisory Board

Adrian Seymour (M)

Buildings & Facilities Manager
  • Appointed in 2014


  • Secretary School of Engineering Health and Safety committee

Nigel Stocks (M)

  • Former Head of School (until August 2017)

Kathryn Thompson (F)

Student Recruitment Officer
  • Appointed in August 2017
  • Responsible for student recruitment at UG and PG level, including organising open days, offer holder open days, revising literature and online web content for prospective applicants

David Towers (M)

Professor and Head of School
  • Head of School since September 2017
  • Responsible for implementation of AP 2015 and AP 2019 and submission development

Caroline Whitehouse (F)

Administrative Officer (AO)
  • Oversight of HR in the School of Engineering
  • Joined Warwick University and SoE part time in July 2017 as Research Officer
  • Moved into a full-time role as AO in November 2017
  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Representative (EDI)


  • Member of Research Committee and various School and Science Faculty project teams

Natalie Wride (F)

PhD student in Civil Engineering
  • On sabbatical from Arup Geotechnical Engineering post
  • Member of the Arup Diversity and Inclusion Group
  • Promotes STEMM via local outreach and tutoring
  • Analysed staff data


  • Chair of Engineering Postgraduate SSLC
  • Chair of Warwick Women in Science (WIS) for postgraduate and early career researchers