Skip to main content


My lab is the newly started "BioLab" at the University of Warwick. The BioLab research focusses on advancing fundamental designs and applications for systems biology and synthetic biology. Using principles inspired by electrical engineering and computer science, we are developing new techniques for (1) constructing, probing, modulating, and modeling engineered biological circuits, and (2) deriving predictive models for biological networks using omics and imaging datasets. The application areas include:

  • Diagnostics and treatments in cancers and infectious diseases;
  • Software platforms for simulating and analysing complex models of biological systems;
  • Biomass maximization; and
  • Programmable functional organic materials.

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Dr William Rostain (2016 - 2017)

PhD Students

  • Sahan Liyanagedera (Oct 2017 - March 2021)
  • Iuliia Zarubiieva (Oct 2017 - September 2021)

Project Students

  • Graduate: Satya Prakash Rajput, Hay Chun Cyrus Chow, Aristotle Charmpas, Shuaifei Huang
  • Undergraduate: John Clarke


  • First Year: Nathan Dixon, Yunxi Ma, Elliot Morgan, Danesh Rasan, George Webb
  • Second Year: Jovan Milojevic, Matt Oosthuizen, Sammy Lin, Oliver Foley, Hashir Azizi, Sofian Chaibi
  • Third Year: Deema Mozayen, Reuben Cooper, Srishankar Rajaiswaran, Jack Hegan, Ronak Joshi
  • Fourth Year: Richard Groves, Sammy Hassan, Jack Costanzi
  • Fifth Year: Thomas Pearson

Past Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Dr Mathias Foo (2016)

Past Project Students

  • Graduate
    • 2015-16: Islam Fazul
  • Undergraduate
    • 2016-17: Sophie Clarke, Ethan Tam, Ben Cox
    • 2015-16: Clara Nicolson, Lina El Menjra, Humphrey Yuan, Ahmed Muzzammil

E-mail me your CV if you would like to join our group.