Skip to main content



Midlands Physics Alliance

The Midlands Physics Alliance is a strategic alliance of the:

School of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Birmingham

School of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Nottingham

Department of Physics of the University of Warwick.

The aim of the Alliance has been to establish a coordinated research grouping and a joint Graduate School with the critical mass to compete with the top US and EU Universities. The Alliance is built on current high quality research in each of our departments (all RAE grade 5), and in 2007 received initial funding from HEFCE of £4m to develop the graduate school over the next five years. Phase 2 of the alliance was launched in 2010 with further support of £3m until 2015.

Graduate School

The Midlands Physics Alliance Graduate School (MPAGS) provides a step change in the graduate experience for over 300 research students in our three departments, by offering a stimulating and thorough set of taught modules. Teaching is provided via the Access Grid, enabling course sharing across the Alliance. This is complemented by bringing students together for thematic workshops and summer schools, as well as generic training to supplement the institutional courses. MPAGS also has offered number of fully funded Prize Studentships to attract the best postgraduate students worldwide to the Alliance.

Teaching at MPAGS started in October 2007 (see press releases by Birmingham, Warwick and Nottingham), initially covering the EPSRC areas of our research. With the launch of its second phase in the academic year 2010/11 MPAGS now also covers the areas of physics and astronomy within the STFC remit.

MPAGS Steering Committee:

Professor Cristina Lazzeroni (Birmingham)

Dr. Vincent Boyer (Birmingham)

Dr. Alberto Sesana (Birmingham)

Dr. Rob Smith (Birmingham) -- Director

Dr. Martin Long (Birmingham)

Professor Rob Jeffries (Keele)

Dr. Thomas Stallard (Leicester)

Dr. Mark Everitt (Loughborough)

Dr Lucia Hackermueller (Nottingham)

Professor Carl Brown (NTU)

Professor David Leadley (Warwick)

Dr. Andrew Levan (Warwick)

Dr. Steven Boyd (Warwick)

Warwick Logo



MPAGS Timetable


Warwick MPAGS