Skip to main content

Invited Keynote Speakers 2018

2018 Invited Speakers

Mathias Herrmann
Anke Krueger
Junichi Isoya
Samuel Graham
Matthias Schreck

Professor Dr Mathias Herrmann

Mathias Herrmann, Dr. habil, Head of Department of Sintering and Characterisation at the Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems, IKTS in Dresden. His activities are mainly focused on the sintering, microstructure formation and properties of nonoxide ceramic materials. Recent research has focused on the development of super hard ceramic materials based on diamond and cubic boron nitride. He is author of about 180 papers in peer review journals, several book chapters and 30 patents.

Dr Matthias Schreck

Matthias Schreck is Head of the Diamond Research Group at the University of Augsburg and for over 20 years he has worked on the development of the heteroepitaxy of diamond single crystal wafers by microwave plasma chemical vapour deposition. Iridium was identified as the best template for heteroepitaxial growth and the multilayer structure Ir/YSZ/Si was introduced as a substrate which could provide a robust technological solution for the production of single crystal diamond wafers. In recent work his team have produced a 155-carat single crystal diamond (90 mm diameter). Matthias is a co-founder of Augsburg Diamond Technology GmbH (

Professor Junich Isoya

Junichi Isoya, is Professor emeritus, at the University of Tsukuba. He is one of the leading experts on the spectroscopic characterisation of defects in diamond and their exploitaiton in a variety of quantum technologies. His recent work has focused on the physics of the key technologies that underpin solid-state quantum computing and quantum sensing.

Professor Samuel Graham

Samuel Graham is the Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Professor and Associate Chair for Research in the Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He leads the Electronics Manufacturing and Reliability Laboratory which is focused on the packaging and reliability of wide bandgap semiconductors, solar cells, and flexible electronics. He also holds a courtesy appointment in the School of Materials Science and Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and a joint appointment in the Energy and Transportation Science Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He is a Fellow of ASME where he recently received the ASME K-16 Clock Award, is a regular contributor to thermally related research programs on GaN and ultrawide bandgap electronics, and serves on the advisory board of the Engineering Sciences Research Foundation of Sandia National Laboratories.

Invited Tutorial Speaker 2018

Prof. Dr. Anke Krueger

As a young scientist Anke was supported by a Liebig Fellowship from 2002 until 2007 before she was appointed junior Professor at the University of Kiel and soon afterwards a Professor at the University of W├╝rzburg, Germany in the Institute of Organic Chemistry. Anke's research interfacing organic synthesis, chemistry, material sciences and nanotechnology focusses on carbon materials, nanodiamond, carbon onions and highly condensed organic compounds.