Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research News

Select tags to filter on

WATE PGR Success

Congratulations to Richard Henshaw of the Soft Condensed Matter and Biophysics group, who has been announced as a 2019 winner of a Warwick Award for Teaching Excellence for Postgraduates who Teach (WATE PGR).

James Gott of the Microscopy group was named as a commendee.

Wed 26 Jun 2019, 10:02 | Tags: Postgraduates, Awards

University Awards shortlist

Congratulations to the XMaS Science Gala team, comprised of Natacha Borrel and Monica Ciomaga Hatnean, who have made it onto the shortlist for the 2019 University Awards.

The winners will be announced at the Staff Summer Party on 24 June.

Tue 04 Jun 2019, 14:55 | Tags: Awards

RTP technicians nominated for prestigious Papin Prize

Congratulations to Steve Hindmarsh of the Electron Microscopy RTP and Steven Huband of the X-ray Diffraction RTP, both closely linked to the Physics department, who have been nominated for a Papin Prize.

The Papin Prizes recognise the skills, talent and experience of technicians in higher education and research, across the UK and Ireland in a select number of technicians out of 20,000 across universities in the UK.

Fri 24 May 2019, 09:46 | Tags: Awards

University Awards longlist and WATE PGR shortlist

Congratulations to the members of the department who have been nominated for individual and team University Awards, and the postgraduates nominated for WATE (PGR).

Physics nominees include Duncan Brealey, Rosalind Johnstone, Monica Ciomaga Hatnean, James Gott, Richard Henshaw, and a number of teams.

Wed 01 May 2019, 09:15 | Tags: Awards

Paul Goddard wins Teaching Award 2017/18

All undergraduates in the Department were invited to vote for who they would like to win the Physics Department Teaching Award 2017/18. The winner was Paul Goddard. The Head of Department, David Leadley, presented the award to Paul in one of his lectures this term.


Paul also won the Award in 14/15. The other winners have been: Neil Wilson (15/16) and Martin Lees (16/17).

Wed 20 Feb 2019, 13:57 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

Pettifer Prize 2017-18


The Pettifer Prize is presented annually to the first year Physics student with the best overall examination performance. It honours the memory of Dr Robert Pettifer, who was a member of the Department from 1972 until his retirement due to ill-health in 2007.

The 2017/18 prizewinner is Guy Moss, who receives a copy of the Feynman Lectures on Physics. The prize was presented by Robert's wife, Mary, and daughter, Candice, who kindly donated an Amazon voucher to add to the prize.

Fri 30 Nov 2018, 11:40 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

Latest news Newer news Older news