Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research News

Select tags to filter on

Physics staff led by Oksana Trushkevych present "Resonate: a string, a concert, a hall, a universe" for the on-campus Resonate festival

In outreach & engagement news, a team of Physics staff led by Oksana Trushkevych (including Gavin Bell, Rachel Edwards, Tim Cunningham and Sue Burrows) presented “Resonate: a string, a concert hall, a universe” for the on-campus Resonate festival, the culmination of the University's celebrations for Coventry City of Culture.

The word resonate was on everyone’s lips, but people did not really talk about resonance in the physics sense of the word (there are some pretty iffy technical definitions even in the most reputable online dictionaries!). So the team set out to correct this and prepared an interactive lecture-performance, drawing on their current research as well as their teaching on The Science of Music module for IATL. PhD students from the Ultrasound group helped to move equipment and instruments, such as theremin and laser harp, to the Arts Centre’s Studio Theatre, and Gentian Mouron-Adams (a Physics undergraduate) demonstrated the Rubens tube. We talked about bridges, earthquakes, musical instruments, concert halls, MRI, seeing resonance, seeing with resonance, using resonance to hear... Activities included “singing” with balloons, “feeling” a piece of original music by Gavin through balloons and a “decipher the message” challenge relying on the natural reverberation of our teaching labs. We celebrated Delia Derbyshire, the electronic music pioneer from Coventry, who created the original Dr Who theme. We also talked about stars singing (actual stars, not celebs, and why we can’t hear them) and the universe being a set of resonances (well, if you are a string theorist). The event was aimed at children 8+ and received very positive feedback from attendees, young and grown up, who all made a lot of noise during and after the show.

Two European Research Council funding grants secured

Congratulations to Dr Rebecca Milot and Dr Matt Kenzie who have both secured European Research Council Starting Grants, following the first call for proposals under the EU's new R&I programme, Horizon Europe.

Dr Rebecca Milot has been awarded €2,473,363 to investigate one of the most promising new materials for solar energy conversion, metal halide perovskites.

Dr Matt Kenzie's award of €1,490,202 will aim to enhance our understanding of the physics underpinning the matter-antimatter asymmetry of the universe, which is fundamental in explaining how our universe arrived at its present state.

Read more about the research projects.

Calling all UK Year 12 female students!

A nationwide competition open to all UK Year 12 female physics students to win an all expenses paid, 4 day trip to the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) world leading science research facility in Grenoble, France.

The group will tour the facilities, conduct experiments, meet the amazing scientists who work there and have the opportunity to tour the beautiful French city of Grenoble.

Find out more information about the opportunity.

£3.5 million donation for aspiring astronomers to reach for the stars

World-leading research by Astronomy and Astrophysics leads to an incredible £3.5 million philanthropic gift to support PhD scholarships, early career researchers and deeper research into unexplored areas.

Find out more about the donation.

Wed 06 Oct 2021, 12:03 | Tags: Feature News, Press, announcements, Faculty of Science

Warwick Awards for Personal Tutoring Excellence

Congratulations to Michael Pounds (Senior Tutor/ Director of Student Experience) who has won a Warwick Award for Personal Tutoring Excellence (WAPTE). The WAPTE awards recognise staff who have made an outstanding contribution to the support of students through the University's personal tutoring system.

Fri 18 Jun 2021, 17:46 | Tags: Staff and Department, Awards, Faculty of Science

PhD Thesis Prize winners

Three PhD students from the class of 2019 have been awarded prestigious prizes for their outstanding doctoral theses. George King was awarded the Winton Prize for Astrophysics, while Ben Chapman and Connor Mosley won the Faculty of Science Thesis Prize. Connor also obtained the Springer Thesis Prize, and his thesis will be published by Springer. Congratulations to all! Full story

Older news