Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Saturday 12 May 2007 IATEFL Learner Autonomy SIG Conference


Learner Autonomy in Language Learning: Widening the Circle

This one-day conference, hosted by the Centre for English Language Teacher Education (CELTE), University of Warwick, was attended by around 70 participants from a wide variety of different countries. Following the conference we have experimentally made the presentations and posters available to a wider audience via this web-site. See the highlighted links below.


Introduction to the day by Richard Smith and Ema Ushioda


Main speakers:


Leni Dam: ‘From school pupils to adult learners: basic principles and useful practices in developing learner autonomy’

Leni Dam is a pedagogical adviser and in-service teacher trainer at the Centre for Higher Education for Copenhagen and Northern Zealand, where, since 2001, she has been responsible for the Diploma in Education. Until very recently she has also been a practising secondary school teacher of English, at Karlslunde School.


David Litttle: ‘Learner autonomy and the European Language Portfolio: two ESL case studies’

David Little is the Director of the Centre for Language and Communication Studies, Trinity College, University of Dublin. He is a consultant to the Validation Committee that the Council of Europe established in 2000 to validate versions of the European Language Portfolio.

Featured speakers:

 terrysmall.jpg Terry Lamb: 'From assessment for learning to assessment for autonomy? Evaluating autonomy for formative purposes'.
 richpemberton.jpg Richard Pemberton: 'Using technology to support learner and teacher autonomy: emerging implications from two teacher education projects’ 


 Additional speaker:

Harry Kuchah: 'Learner autonomy in Cameroon: A personal experience’


Round-up session 

Lienhard Legenhausen (Chair) and all the speakers


Poster Presentations:

David Dixon

Jiang Xiaoli

Carol Everhard

Magdalena Wawrzyniak-Sliwska

Wei Yi-Chun (Sherri)


  • David Dixon
  • Jiang Xiaoli
  • Annamaria Pinter
  • Richard Smith
  • Tsai Yi-Jen (Jessie)
  • Ema Ushioda
  • Wei Yi-Chun (Sherri)


Contact: or









Final programme


IATEFL Learner Autonomy SIG website here


Blog for further discussion here