Skip to main content Skip to navigation

GCRP Final Conference 28th - 29th October 2011

Gendered Ceremony and Ritual in Parliament:

Disciplining Representation


Day 1: 28th October 2011

Venue: House of Lords

2.00 pm Arrival: St. Stephens Entrance - House of Lords

2:30 pm Registration and Welcome: The Moses Room

3.00 – 3:30 pm Inaugural Speech: Rt. Hon. Harriet Harman QC
MP Shadow Secretary of State for International
Development and Shadow Deputy Prime Minister

Chair: Joni Lovenduski (Birkbeck College)
Shirin Rai (University of Warwick)
Emma Crewe (Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellow)
Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh)
Nirmal Puwar (Goldsmiths College)

Chair: Lord Bhikhu Parekh (House of Lords)
Rosa Malley (University of Bristol) – Parliamentary
Culture and Inclusiveness Westminster and the
Scottish Parliament
Sarah Childs (University of Bristol) – Parliamentary
Sororal Friendships: When Labour Women are
Under Attack
Faith Armitage (Birkbeck College) – Symbolic Speakers?
Women, Parties and Parliaments
Commentator: Diana Coole (Birkbeck College)

6.30 – 8.30pm DRINKS RECEPTION The Terrace

Welcome: Prof. Lord Anthony Giddens (House of Lords)

Plenary Address:
Dr. Frene Ginwala
First Speaker of post-apartheid parliament of
South Africa


Day 2: 29th October 2011

Venue: The British Library Conference Centre

9.00 am Arrival - Tea & Coffee

Chair: Janelle Reinelt (University of Warwick)
Shirin Rai (University of Warwick) – Political Performance:
Gendered Ceremony and Ritual in Parliament
Bairavee Balasubramaniam (University of Warwick) – Dramaturgy in The Indian Parliament: Exploring Intersections of Gender, Nation and Parliamentary Ethos Through Performances on the Floor of the House
Mukulika Banerjee (London School of Economics) – Elections as
Social Dramas
Commentator: Mike Saward (Open University)

11.00 - 11.30 am Tea & Coffee

Chair: Vicky Randall (University of Essex)
Rachel Johnson (University of Sheffield) – Pageantry as Politics:
the State Opening of Parliament
Georgina Waylen (University of Sheffield) – Building New
Democracies: Symbols and Space
Philip Manow (University of Bremen) - Cupola, Rostrum,
Parliamentary Seating Arrangements—Democracy’s
New Architectural Language
Commentator: John Parkinson (University of Warwick)

1.00 – 2.00 pm Lunch

Chair: Oonagh Gay (House of Commons)
Joni Lovenduski (Birkbeck College) – Gender and Ritual in the
House of Commons
Victoria Hasson (University of Sheffield) – Proceduralising the
Conventions of Parliamentary Practice in the Parliament of
South Africa 1970 - 2009
Carole Spary (University of Warwick) – Disrupting Deliberation?
Comparing Repertoires of Parliamentary Representation
Commentator: Susan Franceschet (University of Calgary)

3.30 – 4.00 pm Tea & Coffee

Chair: Anne Phillips (London School of Economics
Niraja Gopal Jayal (Jawaharlal Nehru University)
Prof. the Lord Philip Norton of Louth (University of Hull)
Tony Wright (Birkbeck College)
Alan Finlayson (Swansea University)
Georgina Waylen (University of Sheffield)

5.30pm Thanks and Close