Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Programme of Events 2019-20


 
Fri 4 Oct, '19
Workshop on Expression and Self-Knowledge with Dorit Bar-On and Lucy Campbell

Expression and Self-knowledge

Warwick University, Friday 4th October 2019

Humanities H0.03

Programme

11.00 – 12.30
Lucy Campbell (Warwick)
‘Self-knowledge: expression without expressivism’

12.30 – 2.00

Dorit Bar-On (University of Connecticut)
‘No ‘How’ Privileged Self-Knowledge’

3.00 – 4.30

Cristina Borgoni (Bayreuth University)

‘Primitive forms of first-person authority and expressive capacities’

Sat 5 Oct, '19
Departmental Open Day
Philosophy Department
Tue 8 Oct, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Andrew Patrizio (History of Art, Edinburgh College of Art)

Title: 'The Ecological Eye: Setting Agendas Across Art History, Theory and Politics'

Respondents: Olga Smith (IAS/Art History), Jonathan Skinner (ECLS), Nick Lawrence, Diarmuid Costello (Philosophy)

Co-sponsored by Warwick Environmental Humanities Network)

Followed by Drinks Reception at 7.30pm

Wed 9 Oct, '19
-
Department Meeting (staff)
S2.77
Sat 19 Oct, '19
Open Day
Philosophy Department

Departmental Undergraduate events will be taking place throughout the day.

Tue 22 Oct, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Serge Trottein (CNRS/École Normale Supérieure/PSL Research University)

Title: 'Kant and Postmodern Aesthetics'

Tue 12 Nov, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Joanna Zylinksa (Department of New Media and Communications, Goldsmiths)

Title: 'Artificial Intelligence, Anthropocene Stupidity'

Wed 20 Nov, '19
-
Department Meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 3 Dec, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Rachel Bowlby (Department of Comparative Literature, UCL)

Title: 'Unnatural Resources: Changing Arguments and Reproductive Technologies'

Fri 6 Dec, '19
-
George Eliot and Philosophy - 200th Anniversary Symposium
Wolfson Research Exchange (Floor 3, Library Extension)

Speakers:

Clare Carlisle Tresch (Philosophy and Theology, KCL)

Patrick Fessenbecker (Cultures, Civilisations and Ideas, Bilkent)

Rebecca Gould (Islamic World and Comparative Literature, Birmingham)

John Rignall (English and Comparative Literature, Warwick)

Contact Eileen John (eileen.john@warwick.ac.uk) for more information.

Tue 14 Jan, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Naomi Waltham-Smith (Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies, Warwick)

Title: 'Homofaunie: Non-Human Tonalities of Listening in Derrida and Cixous'

Wed 15 Jan, '20
-
Department meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 28 Jan, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Josh Robinson (School of English, Communications, Philosophy, Cardiff)

Title: 'Crisis in Theory'

Sat 15 Feb, '20
-
Literature and the Event: Reformulations of the Literary in the 21st Century

Speakers:

Derek Attridge (English and Related Literature, York)

Esther Leslie (Political Aesthetics, Birkbeck)

Fri 21 Feb, '20 - Sat 22 Feb, '20
10am - 6pm
Resonance: A Social Theory for the Good Life

Runs from Friday, February 21 to Saturday, February 22.

Speakers:

Hartmut Rosa (Sociology, Jena University/Max Weber Kolleg Erfurt)

Daniel Hartley (World Literatures, Durham)

Irina Hron (German Studies, Vienna University/Gothenburg University)

Tue 25 Feb, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Kate Soper (Philosophy, University of Brighton/London Metropolitan University)

Title: 'The Dialectics of Progress: Towards a Post-Growth Aesthetic and Politics of Prosperity'

Wed 26 Feb, '20
-
Department meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 10 Mar, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: James MacDowell (Department of Film and TV, Warwick)

Title: 'Regarding YouTube as Art'

Mon 16 Mar, '20 - Tue 17 Mar, '20
10am - 6pm
Poetry and Philosophy BSA Synergy Conference
MS.03 (Zeeman Building)

Runs from Monday, March 16 to Tuesday, March 17.

Contact Eileen John (eileen.john@warwick.ac.uk) for more information.

Fri 19 Jun, '20 - Sat 20 Jun, '20
10am - 6pm
Blood on the Leaves and Blood at the Roots: Reconsidering Forms of Enslavement and Subjections Across Disciplines

Runs from Friday, June 19 to Saturday, June 20.

TBC