Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Programme of Events 2018-19


 
Tue 9 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Michael Dillon, 'Making Infinity Count: The Baroque Order of Transfinite Things and the Automatisation of Reason'
S0.11

More details to follow.

Wed 17 Oct, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81

Naomi Eilan: 'Experiential Objectivity'

Wed 17 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA/History of Art Seminar: Bence Nanay (Antwerp)
IAS Seminar Room, Millburn House, History of Art Department

Title: 'Global Aesthetics'

Tue 23 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Karen Simecek, '‘Listen to me!' The Value of Voice in Performed Poetry’
S0.11
Wed 24 Oct, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81

Naomi Eilan: 'Experiential Objectivity'

Wed 31 Oct, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81

Naomi Eilan: 'Experiential Objectivity'

Wed 7 Nov, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81

Naomi Eilan: 'Experiential Objectivity'

Wed 14 Nov, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81

Naomi Eilan: 'Experiential Objectivity'

Tue 20 Nov, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Douglas Pye, ‘V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’ (full title below)
S0.11

Full title: ‘“… I have become less and less convinced that criticism does or should proceed through the use of anything that can reasonably be described as criteria”: V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’

Wed 28 Nov, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81
Tue 4 Dec, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Philippe Lynes, ‘Blanchot’s role in Derrida's Life Death’. Respondent: Holly Langstaff
S0.11

Details to follow.

Wed 5 Dec, '18
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81
Wed 9 Jan, '19
-
WMA graduate research seminar
S1.141
Tue 15 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Tina Lupton, ‘Queer Times for the Straight Book: Ali Smith, Maggie Nelson, Michel Serres’
S0.11
Fri 18 Jan, '19 - Sat 19 Jan, '19
All-day
"The Flow of Time" Workshop, AHRC Project 'Time: Between Metaphysics and Psychology'
Palazzo Pesaro-Papafava, Venice

Runs from Friday, January 18 to Saturday, January 19.

Tue 29 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Adam Frank, ‘Hollow Utterance or Expression: Austin with Stein’. Respondent: Daniel Katz
S0.11

Details to follow.

Wed 30 Jan, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S1.141
Wed 6 Feb, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S1.141
Wed 20 Feb, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S1.141
Wed 20 Feb, '19
-
WMA Seminar: Ivan Ivanov (Shandong University)
Cowling Room (S2.77)

Title: 'Revelation and Observation'

Tue 26 Feb, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Olga Smith, ‘Landscape without a subject: representing environment in contemporary photography’. Respondent: Karen Lang
S0.11
Wed 6 Mar, '19
-
WMA graduate research seminar
S2.39
Tue 12 Mar, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: David Fearn, ‘Gorgias’ Cosmos: Classical Greek Sophistic Rhetoric as Exemplificatory Poetics’
S0.11
Wed 20 Mar, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S2.81
Thu 4 Apr, '19
Precarity and Precariousness Workshop

Workshop supported by CRPLA and HRC at Warwick and by Royal Holloway

Wed 17 Apr, '19
-
Mini-Workshop
MB0.08

Joulia Smortchkova is going to give a talk called 'First Impressions' about the role these play in our knowledge of others' minds, and then Jake Quilty-Dunn is going to give a talk about concept possession. For more info please contact sam.clarke@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

Sat 4 May, '19
-
Poetry and Philosophy Colloquium: On Poetic Determination
MS.05
Wed 8 May, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
A0.05 (Soc Sci)
Thu 9 May, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Andrew Benjamin - ‘Doubt and Indifference: Threshold Conditions in Rosso Fiorentino and Bartolomeo Neroni’ (new title)
MS.05
Wed 22 May, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
A0.05 (Soc Sci)