Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Programme of Events 2019-20


 
Fri 4 Oct, '19
Workshop on Expression and Self-Knowledge with Dorit Bar-On and Lucy Campbell

Expression and Self-knowledge

Warwick University, Friday 4th October 2019

Humanities H0.03

Programme

11.00 – 12.30
Lucy Campbell (Warwick)
‘Self-knowledge: expression without expressivism’

12.30 – 2.00

Dorit Bar-On (University of Connecticut)
‘No ‘How’ Privileged Self-Knowledge’

3.00 – 4.30

Cristina Borgoni (Bayreuth University)

‘Primitive forms of first-person authority and expressive capacities’

Tue 8 Oct, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Andrew Patrizio (History of Art, Edinburgh College of Art)

Title: 'The Ecological Eye: Setting Agendas Across Art History, Theory and Politics'

Respondents: Olga Smith (IAS/Art History), Jonathan Skinner (ECLS), Nick Lawrence, Diarmuid Costello (Philosophy)

Co-sponsored by Warwick Environmental Humanities Network)

Followed by Drinks Reception at 7.30pm

Tue 15 Oct, '19
-
Official Launch of the Post-Kantian Research Centre
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Simon Critchley (New School for Social Research): Tragedy, the Greeks and Us

Response by Andrew Cooper (Warwick) and David Fearn (Warwick)

Tue 22 Oct, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Serge Trottein (CNRS/École Normale Supérieure/PSL Research University)

Title: 'Kant and Postmodern Aesthetics'

Tue 29 Oct, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)

Title: Kant and Hegel on the Antinomies of Reason

Tue 12 Nov, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Joanna Zylinska (Department of New Media and Communications, Goldsmiths)

Title: 'Artificial Intelligence, Anthropocene Stupidity'

ABSTRACT

'My talk will engage with two defining apocalyptic narratives of our times: the Anthropocene and AI (Artificial Intelligence). Both of these narratives, in their multiple articulations, predict the end of the human and of the world as we (humans) know it, while also hinting at the possibility of salvation. Looking askew at the conceptual and aesthetic tropes shaping them, and at their socio-political contexts, I will be particularly interested in the way in which these two stories about planetary-level threats come together, and in the reasons for their uncanny proximity. Concurring with Marshall McLuhan that art works as a 'Distant Early Warning system' for all kinds of apocalypse, I will suggest that it can also serve as a testing ground for the making and unmaking of such apocalyptic scenarios. And it is in art that I will seek the possibility of envisaging a better and more prudent relationship with technology - and with the world - from within the Anthropocene-AI nexus. The talk will include a presentation of some visual work from my own art practice'.

Tue 19 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Beatrice Han-Pile (Essex)

Title: 'The Doing Is Everything': A Middle-Voiced Reading of Agency in Nietzsche

Tue 26 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Jeffrey A. Bell (Southeastern Louisiana University)

Title: 'Towards a Deleuzian-Humean Political Theory'

Tue 3 Dec, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Rachel Bowlby (Department of Comparative Literature, UCL)

Title: 'Unnatural Resources: Changing Arguments and Reproductive Technologies'

Fri 6 Dec, '19
-
George Eliot and Philosophy - 200th Anniversary Symposium
Wolfson Research Exchange (Floor 3, Library Extension)
Tue 14 Jan, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Naomi Waltham-Smith (Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies, Warwick)

Title: 'Homofaunie: Non-Human Tonalities of Listening in Derrida and Cixous'

Tue 21 Jan, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Genealogy and Critique

With Daniele Lorenzini (Warwick) and David Owen (Southampton)

Tue 28 Jan, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Josh Robinson (School of English, Communications, Philosophy, Cardiff)

Title: 'Crisis in Theory'

Tue 4 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Nina Power (Roehampton)

Title: tbc

Sat 15 Feb, '20
-
Literature and the Event: Reformulations of the Literary in the 21st Century

Speakers:

Derek Attridge (English and Related Literature, York)

Esther Leslie (Political Aesthetics, Birkbeck)

Tue 18 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Simone Kotva (Cambridge)

Title: tbc

Fri 21 Feb, '20 - Sat 22 Feb, '20
10am - 6pm
Resonance: A Social Theory for the Good Life

Runs from Friday, February 21 to Saturday, February 22.

Speakers:

Hartmut Rosa (Sociology, Jena University/Max Weber Kolleg Erfurt)

Daniel Hartley (World Literatures, Durham)

Irina Hron (German Studies, Vienna University/Gothenburg University)

Tue 25 Feb, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Kate Soper (Philosophy, University of Brighton/London Metropolitan University)

Title: 'The Dialectics of Progress: Towards a Post-Growth Aesthetic and Politics of Prosperity'

Tue 3 Mar, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar

Bergson on Time and Freedom

With Keith Ansell-Pearson (Warwick), Emily Herring (Leeds) and Mark Sinclair (Roehampton)

Tue 10 Mar, '20
-
CRPLA Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: James MacDowell (Department of Film and TV, Warwick)

Title: 'Regarding YouTube as Art'

Mon 16 Mar, '20 - Tue 17 Mar, '20
10am - 6pm
Poetry and Philosophy BSA Synergy Conference
MS.03 (Zeeman Building)

Runs from Monday, March 16 to Tuesday, March 17.

Contact Eileen John (eileen.john@warwick.ac.uk) for more information.

Fri 19 Jun, '20 - Sat 20 Jun, '20
10am - 6pm
Blood on the Leaves and Blood at the Roots: Reconsidering Forms of Enslavement and Subjections Across Disciplines

Runs from Friday, June 19 to Saturday, June 20.

TBC