Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Programme of Events 2020-21


Select tags to filter on
 
Thu 26 Nov, '20
-
Knowledge and Belief Seminar
By Zoom

Guest Speaker: Johannes Roessler (Warwick)

Title: 'Perceptual Self-Knowledge and Doxastic Self-Determination'

Abstract. According to a widely held view of the nature of belief (which I label the Activity thesis, AT), beliefs belong to the ‘active side’ of the human mind. In this paper I explore a challenge to AT. I argue that reflection on the distinctive immediacy of perceptual knowledge, as we ordinarily understand it, puts pressure on an assumption informing AT, viz. that reasons for belief can always coherently be treated as a basis for ‘making up one’s mind’. Our best reasons for perceptual beliefs, I suggest, manifestly entail that we hold the belief they support, and so imply that our minds are already made up. (For example, one's best reason for believing that p may be 'I can see that p'.) I do not mean to suggest that perceptual beliefs should therefore be classified as belonging to the 'passive side' of the human mind. Rather, I think we should question the exhaustiveness (and perhaps usefulness) of the active vs passive distinction, as it has been employed in the philosophy of mind.

Thu 26 Nov, '20
-
Philosophy Society: Festival of Philosophy 2020
MS Teams

Guest Speaker: Angie Hobbs (Sheffield)

Title: 'Is Ancient Greek Philosophy Any Use in a Pandemic'

Mon 30 Nov, '20
-
Philosophy Skills Development Session
MS Teams

Managing Your Workload and Getting "Stuff" Done over Christmas!

Wed 2 Dec, '20
-
Philosophy Department Colloquium
By Zoom

Guest Speaker: Miriam Schoenfield (Austin, Texas)

Title: 'Deferring and Doubt'

Thu 3 Dec, '20
-
Knowledge and Belief Seminar
By Zoom

Guest Speaker: Leda Berio (HHU, Düsseldorf)

Title: TBC

Thu 3 Dec, '20
-
Art and Mind Reading Group
MS Teams

Subject: Literature

Please contact Giulia Lorenzi for further information.

Tue 8 Dec, '20
-
CRPLA Reading Group: Philosophy in a Time of Crisis
Thu 10 Dec, '20
-
MAP Cinema Club
MS Teams

The Film Club will be discussing the short documentary 30% (Women and Politics in Sierra Leone) and exploring the themes of gender and social collaboration. To be added to the dedicated mailing list and MS Team group and receive further information, please send an email to Sailee (organiser) via sailee.khurjekar@warwick.ac.uk.

Thu 10 Dec, '20
-
Knowledge and Belief Seminar
By Zoom

Guest Speaker: Guy Longworth (Warwick)

Title: 'What Is the Good of Believing? Cook Wilson on Failing to Know'

Thu 14 Jan, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Kristina Musholt (Leipzig)

Tue 26 Jan, '21
-
Mark Bould (UWE)
Wed 27 Jan, '21
-
Philosophy Department Colloquium
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Andy Hamilton (Durham)

Thu 28 Jan, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Edward Harcourt (Oxford)

Wed 10 Feb, '21
-
Philosophy Department Colloquium
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Jessica Keiser (Leeds)

Thu 11 Feb, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Richard Moore (Warwick

Thu 25 Feb, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Henrike Moll (Southern California)

Tue 2 Mar, '21
-
CRPLA Seminar: Karen Zumhagen-Yekplé (Tulane) - Book Symposium
Wed 10 Mar, '21
-
Philosophy Department Colloquium
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Christopher Janaway (Southampton)

Thu 11 Mar, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Ruth Boeker (University College Dublin)

Tue 16 Mar, '21
-
CRPLA Symposium with Kate Soper and Rachel Bowlby
Mon 22 Mar, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Details TBC

Thu 8 Apr, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Barbora Siposova (Warwick)

Thu 22 Apr, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Jonathan Webber (Cardiff)

Thu 6 May, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Johannes Roessler (Warwick)

Thu 20 May, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Naomi Eilan (Warwick)

Fri 4 Jun, '21
-
From Moral Learning to Self-Understanding Seminar Series
Webinar

Guest Speaker: Vasu Reddy (Portsmouth)