Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Anthea McIntyre – Member of European Parliament for the West Midlands (Conservative)

Anthea McIntyre is a politician and businesswoman and devotes spare time to a range of voluntary-service roles.

As Conservative MEP for the West Midlands since 2011, Miss McIntyre is the Party’s Employment spokesman in Europe and sits on the European Parliament's Agriculture Committee and Employment and Social Affairs Committee. She has drafted Parliamentary reports on subjects including recently piloted legislation through the Parliament to prevent the import of deadly plant pests from abroad. Prior to becoming an MEP, she stood for Westminster in the Redditch seat in 1997 and the Shrewsbury and Atcham seat in 2001.

In September 2016 she was appointed Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party with a seat on the Board. She has special responsibility for training and will focus on reinvigorating the training provided for the voluntary party including activists and young people.

A lifelong party activist, she is a former deputy chairman of the National Young Conservatives, chairman of the Party's West Midlands Region, chairman of Hereford Conservative Association and, in 1977, became the youngest County Councillor in England.

Outside politics she is a director of MCP Systems, a consultancy specialising in business intelligence systems.

Separately she is a partner in a Herefordshire smallholding and vineyard.

Anthea won the European Woman of Achievement Award for Business in 1997 and in 2009 her work helped win MCP a national award for technological innovation in the Health Service.

In the voluntary sector she chairs Herefordshire Conservative Business Forum, is an Ambassador for the Federation of Small Businesses and an official champion of English Regional wines.

Before becoming an MEP she was a member of the BBC Midlands Advisory Council, Hereford Community Health Council, Midlands Electricity Consultative Council and the Regional Policy Committee of the Federation of Small Businesses.