Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Coull Quartet Summer Concerts

Two concerts from the University's resident Coull Quartet complete their 2002/3 season. The concerts continue the world-wide celebrations marking the 50th anniversary of Prokofiev's death with two of his major works for chamber ensemble. Quartet No.1, from the early 1930s, was based on the composer's detailed study, mainly on train journeys, of Beethoven's own quartets. Prokofiev's second quartet, full of folksong references, was composed while the the composer was an evacuee following Hitler's invasion of Russia.

Mon 12 May 8.00pm

HAYDN Quartet in B minor, Op. 64, No.2
PROKOFIEV Quartet No.2 in F, Op. 92
SCHUBERT Quartet in A minor, D.804

Mon 19 May 8.00pm

MOZART Quartet in D, K.575
PROKOFIEV Quartet No.1 in B minor
BEETHOVEN Quartet in E flat, Op. 127

"Exceptionally intelligent and responsive" The Guardian

Each Costs: £10.00

Purchase a ticket for both concerts for only £15