Skip to main content

National & international contexts

The University operates within a variety of national contexts that affect our teaching and learning-related policies and procedures. In particular, we are required to interpret and implement the requirements and guidelines of the Quality Assurance Agency.

In specific subject areas, we also work within frameworks established by national professional, statutory and regulatory bodies (PSRBs).

A number of other external agencies, including HEFCE and the HEA, work in the area of teaching quality.

We also take account of international requirements, including the Bologna process.


The QAA is the national body established to safeguard and improve the standards and quality of higher education.

In consultation with the HE sector, the QAA has developed the UK Quality Code for Higher Education (formerly the academic infrastructure), which defines the standards and quality against which HE institutions are measured.

The UK Quality Code for Higher Education consists of three sections, covering:

  • Setting and Maintaining Threshold Academic Standards;
  • Assuring and Enhancing Academic Quality; and
  • Information about Higher Education Provision

Warwick's quality assurance framework implements the UK Quality Code for Higher Education.

The QAA carries out institutional reviews of HE institutions to ensure that the education they provide meets these standards. Warwick's last institutional review took place in the Spring Term of 2013.

Further education colleges (FECs) which deliver higher education courses funded by HEFCE are subject to QAA's Intergrated quality and enhancement review (IQER) process. Warwick collaborates with nine FECs to deliver HE courses. Details of partner IQERs are available.

Other external agencies

The following external agencies have responsibilities linked to teaching quality and you may be interested in their work. This is not an exhaustive list and if you would like to suggest any other links, please let us know!

You may also be interested in the following work on postgraduate research skills:

International contexts - the Bologna process

The Bologna process is an inter-governmental process currently involving 46 nations across Europe. The signatory countries are seeking to create a European HE Area to:

  • remove the obstacles to student mobility across Europe;
  • enhance the attractiveness of European higher education worldwide;
  • establish a common structure of higher education systems across Europe, and;
  • for this common structure to be based on two main cycles, undergraduate and graduate.

See the FAQs on the Bologna process: