Skip to main content Skip to navigation

CDT Management Committee

Terms of Reference

  1. To oversee the implementation and management of all centres of doctoral training (CDT) at Warwick, hereafter called CDTs.
  2. To monitor the progress of all CDTs that are affiliated with Warwick.
  3. To actively oversee internally funded CDTs.
  4. To propose strategy for applying for new externally funded CDTs, to ensure quality applications in line with Warwick’s and funders’ research priorities.
  5. To make recommendations to the Board of Graduate Studies and Research Committee, regarding provision of externally and internally funded CDTs.
  6. Act as the body who considers requirements for CDTs and raises issues to the relevant academic department or governance committee.


CDTs are defined for this purpose as PGR communities that are recruited, trained and administered in a series of cohorts, including but is not limited to all cohort-based Centres of Doctoral Training (CDT), Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTP), Collaborative Training Partnerships (CTP) and Doctoral Training Centres (DTC), regardless of funding source.

Membership 2019/20

Chair Pam Thomas
Secretary Rebecca Vipond
Doctoral College

Colin Sparrow

PGR Funding Nicola Attridge
Faculty of Arts

Jenny Burns (CADRE)

Sharon Wilson (M4C)

Faculty of Social Sciences

Jon Coaffee (ESRC DTP, Leverhulme TRANSFORM and CDT (Social Sciences & Arts) representative on BGS)

Ashleigh Skelhorn (ESRC DTP)

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Medicine

Vardis Ntoukakis (MIBTP)

Christophe Corre (SynBio)

Mike Tildesley (Mathsys)

Helen Knight (Hetsys & DST)

Jonathan Millar (MRC DTP)

Nicola Glover (NERC CENTA)

Jose Rodrigo (Warwick-sponsored CDTs and CDT (Sciences) representative on BGS)

Reporting Structure

CDTMC reports directly to the Board of Graduate Studies and, via the chair, to the Research Committee.


Secretary: Rebecca Vipond. Please forward correspondance to 


  • 21 October 2020, 09:00 - 11:00 (Microsoft Teams) - agenda | minutes
  • 11 March 2021, 13:00 - 15:00 (Microsoft Teams) - agenda | minutes
  • 2 June 2021, 11:00 - 12:00 (Microsoft Teams) - agenda | minutes