Skip to main content Skip to navigation

RECM Self-Assessment Team

The Self Assessment Team (SAT) was established in June 2015 and reports into the Equality and Diversity Committee, (EDC is chaired by Provost Chris Ennew).

Staff and students across the University have been involved in the work for the Race Equality Charter Mark submission to this date.

The members of the SAT during the writing of the submission were as below.

Role at the Unversity

Pam Thomas

(Chair of SAT)

Professor and Pro-Vice Chancellor (for Research)
Safrina Ahmed Undergraduate, Department of Sociology
Claire Algar Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Officer
Cindy Asokan Undergraduate, Politics and International Studies
Anil Awesti

Widening Participation Officer

Researcher, School of Law

Mems Ayinla Undergraduate, Politics and International Studies
Geetha Balakrishnan Professorial Fellow, Department of Physics
Sandra Beaufoy Equality and Diversity Advisor
Gurminder Bhambra Professor and Research Director, Department of Sociology
Paul Blagburn Head of Widening Participation/Assistant Director (Outreach), Student Recruitment, Outreach and Asmissions Service
Nia Conteh Undergraduate, Department of Modern Languages
Nigel de Noronha Teaching Fellow, Department of Sociology
Sean Hand Professor, Department of Modern Languages
Brian Karanja Senior Business Analytics/Analyst Developer, Strategic, Planning and Analytics Office
Sotaro Kita Professor, Department of Psychology
Angela Last Postdoctoral Researcher, appointed to work on the submission for a 4 month period
Upamanyu Mukherjee Professor, English
Meleisa Ono-George Director of Student Experience and Senior Teaching Fellow, Department of History
Kate Pearson Anglican chaplain, with a focus on multi-faith working
Rebecca Quansah Student Development Manager, Students Union
Ros Roke Director of Strategic Programme Delivery
Leon Sealey-Huggins Senior Teaching Fellow, Global Sustainable Development
Sandy Sparks Learning and Development Advisor, Research Active Staff
Sharifah Sekalala Assistant Professor, School of Law
Charikleia Tzanakou Research Fellow, Politics and International Studies