Skip to main content

The University's Charitable Status as at 31 January 2015

The University is an exempt charity whose principal regulator is the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). The HEFCE sets out a number of information requirements on institutions with this status and this information is provided as follows:

1. Name and Address

The legal name and correspondence address of the University of Warwick is as follows:

University of Warwick

2. Charter and Statutes

The University's legal status derives from a Royal Charter originally granted in March 1965. Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in the Charter and supporting Statutes. The Charter and Statutes for 2009/10, as required by the HEFCE, can be found at Charter and Statutes.

Changes to the Charter and Statutes

The University submitted a request to the Privy Council to make revisions to its Charter and Statutes, including the abolition of the Court and removal of the Statute on the University Librarian. The Privy Council with the Queen in session granted final approval of the proposed amendments on 15 October 2009 and these changes are incorporated in the version available above.

3. Financial Statements

The University's financial statements can be found on the Statutory Accounts web page. The University's public benefit statement is included in the financial statements.

The financial statements include information in relation to the University's linked charity, University of Warwick Foundation Trust. Further information about the University of Warwick Foundation Trust is also available on the Warwick Foundation web page.

4. Governing Body

The governing body of the University is the Council and its members, who are its trustees, as of January 2015 can be found below, together with information on the other charities (if any) of which they are also trustees. The membership of the Council as at 31 January 2014 is available on the Trustees web page.

  Member of Council Charities of which Members are Trustees


Sir George Cox

University of Warwick Foundation Trust

The Vice-Chancellor:

Professor Sir Nigel Thrift

National Centre for Universities and Business
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM)
University of Warwick Foundation Trust University of Warwick Science Park Foundation

The Treasurer:

Mr K Bedell-Pearce

University of Warwick Foundation Trust

The Provost:

Professor S Croft


The Pro-Vice-Chancellors:

Professor C Hughes

University of Warwick Foundation Trust RSA Academies


Professor T Jones


Up to four academic members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate:

Professor C W Hughes



Professor A Muthoo



Professor P Thomas



Professor P Winstanley

Action Malawi

One member of the non-academic staff of the University appointed by the Senate:

Mr A Rivett

Dance Touring Partnership The Audience Agency Shared Experience BACH (The British Association of Concert Halls)

Such other persons not being members of the academic staff or salaried officers or students of the University and not exceeding twelve in all, as may be appointed by the Council:

Dame Fiona Caldicott


Ms V Cooke (Vice-Chair)

Hubbub Foundation

Mr P Dunne

EY Foundation Leap Confronting Conflict

Mrs P Egan

RSA Academies


Ms T Elliott

Royal Town Planning Institute


Dr J Ferrie



Mr J Higgins



Mr G Howells

Ikon Gallery, Birmingham
MADE, Birmingham


Ms J MacNaughton

The Climate Group


Sir David Normington

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children


Mr M Temple

Design Council CABE

The President of the Union of Students:

Ms C Turhan


One student elected by the Union of Students:

Mr R Ankcorn