Skip to main content

The University's Charitable Status as at 31 January 2017

The University is an exempt charity whose principal regulator is the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). The HEFCE sets out a number of information requirements on institutions with this status and this information is provided as follows:

1. Name and Address

The legal name and correspondence address of the University of Warwick is as follows:

University of Warwick

2. Charter and Statutes

The University's legal status derives from a Royal Charter originally granted in March 1965. Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in the Charter and supporting Statutes. The Charter and Statutes have not been amended since those in force in 2009-10, and can be found at Charter and Statutes.

Changes to the Charter and Statutes

The University submitted a request to the Privy Council to make revisions to its Charter and Statutes, including the abolition of the Court and removal of the Statute on the University Librarian. The Privy Council with the Queen in session granted final approval of the proposed amendments on 15 October 2009 and these changes are incorporated in the version available above.

3. Financial Statements

The University's financial statements can be found on the Statutory Accounts web page. The University's public benefit statement is included in the financial statements.

The financial statements include information in relation to the University's linked charity, University of Warwick Foundation Trust. Further information about the University of Warwick Foundation Trust is also available on the Warwick Foundation web page.

4. Governing Body

The governing body of the University is the Council and its members, who are its trustees, as of 31 January 2017 can be found below, together with information on the other charities (if any) of which they are also trustees. The membership of the Council as at 31 January 2016 is available on the Trustees web page.

  Member of Council Charities of which Members are Trustees
The Pro-Chancellors: Chair: Sir George Cox University of Warwick Foundation Trust
  Vice-Chair: Ms V Cooke Hubbub Foundation
The Vice-Chancellor and President: Professor S Croft University of Warwick Foundation Trust
The Treasurer: Mr K Bedell-Pearce University of Warwick Foundation Trust
The Provost: Professor C Ennew  
The Pro-Vice-Chancellors: Professor C Hughes  
  Professor S Swain University of Warwick Foundation Trust
  Professor P Thomas Alan Turing Institute; University of Warwick Foundation Trust
Up to four academic members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate: Professor D Branch  
  Professor A Clarke  
  Professor L Roberts  
One member of the non-academic staff of the University appointed by the Senate: Ms A Pulford  
Such other persons not being members of the academic staff or salaried officers or students of the University and not exceeding 11 (such that the total lay representation, including ex-officio membership, shall not exceed 14 in all), appointed by the Council: Dr N Bentley  
Ms A Bhalla Children's University; Saintbury Trust
Dr J Ferrie  
Ms K Gadhok  
Mr G Howells Ikon Gallery, Birmingham; MADE, Birmingham
Dr D Keith  
Ms J MacNaughton The Climate Group; James Hutton Institute
Sir David Normington National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children
Mr A Penfold Design South East
Mr N Sachdev Imperial College Students' Union
Ms G Tucker  
The President of the Union of Students: Mr L Pilot Warwick SU
One student elected by the Union of Students: Ms R Gittins Warwick SU