Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Academic Resourcing Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2018/19

Chair (the Provost)

Professor Christine Ennew

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement)

Professor Simon Swain

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Christopher Hughes

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Pam Thomas

Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Director of Quality Assurance and Enhancement

Professor David Lamburn

The Chairs of the Boards of the Faculties:

Professor Michael Shipman (Science, Engineering and Medicine)

Professor Penny Roberts (Arts (study leave February-June 2019))

Professor Daniel Branch (Arts (from February-June 2019))

Professor Matthew Nudds (Social Sciences)

Four members of the Senate, one from the Faculty of Arts, two from the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Medicine, and one from the Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Alison Ribeiro de Menezes (Arts)

Professor Lorenzo Frigerio (Science, Engineering and Medicine)

Professor Sudhesh Kumar (Science, Engineering and Medicine)

Professor Andrew Lockett (Social Sciences)

In Attendance

Finance Director
Deputy Finance Director (Department Services)
Head of Finance Departmental Services Team (ARC)
Academic Registrar (Secretary)
HR Engagement Director
Acting Director of Strategic Planning and Analytics
Director of Research and Impact Services

Return to top

Terms of Reference

1. To guide the strategic, performance and financial planning process for academic departments, ensuring that their plans both inform and are informed by the University’s strategy.

2. To develop financial strategies and approve departmental budgets for the support of academic activities within the overall available funding envelope and within the context of the University's strategic goals and priorities.

3. To guide the setting of admissions targets and monitoring of intake for degree programmes and the determination of appropriate entry requirements.

4. To monitor income and expenditure and achievement of plans by departments, including research income and targets, and help departments to take corrective action where performance deviates adversely from plan.

5. To approve and monitor the staffing establishment of academic departments in the ARC envelope, and to consider bids for the establishment of new posts.

6. To monitor and review performance against plan for new degree-level undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses, reporting to other bodies in the University (e.g. Steering Committee) as appropriate.

7. To ensure that the impact of academic resourcing decisions on other areas such as capital space and planning, professional and support services, commercial services and core academic infrastructure are considered and referred to other bodies as appropriate.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Academic Resourcing Committee reports to the Senate and to the Council via the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Dr Chris Twine (Academic Registrar)

Assistant Secretary: TBC (Director of Strategic Planning & Analytics)

Papers for consideration by the Academic Resourcing Committee should be submitted to the Secretary one week in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered (ARCAdministrators at warwick dot ac dot uk).

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Academic Resourcing Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top