## UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

# Minutes of the joint meeting of the Council and the Senate held on 17 November 2016

Present:

Sir George Cox (Chair of Council (Chair)), Professor M Balasubramanian, Professor D Branch, Dr D Britnell, Professor A Clarke (Chair of the Faculty of Medicine), Ms V Cooke (Independent Member (Pro-Chancellor)), Professor S Croft (Vice-Chancellor), Professor A Dowd (Chair of the Board of Graduate Studies), Professor C Ennew (Provost), Mr J Ferrie (Independent Member), Professor M Freely, Ms K Gadhok (Independent Member), Professor L Green, Professor C Hughes (Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)), Mrs K Hughes, Dr D Keith (Independent Member), Professor S Kumar, Professor G Lindsay, Professor A Lockett, Ms J MacNaughton (Independent Member), Sir David Normington (Independent Member), Professor J Palmowski (Academic Vice-President), Mr A Penfold (Independent Member), Mr L Pilot (President of the Students' Union), Professor R Probert, Ms A Pulford, Professor A Reeve, Professor L Roberts, Professor A Rodger, Mr N Sachdev (Independent Member), Professor K Seers, Dr N Shiers (Postgraduate Officer of the Students' Union), Professor M Shipman (Chair of the Faculty of Science). Professor J Solomos. Professor P Thomas (Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)), Ms G Tucker (Independent Member), Dr T Van Rens, Dr N Whybrow, Ms H Worsdale (Education Officer of the Students' Union).

Apologies:

Mr K Bedell-Pearce (Treasurer), Dr N Bentley (Independent Member), Professor S Bruzzi, Professor A Cooley, Mrs S Crookes, Professor C Davis, Professor S Gilson (Chair of the Faculty of Arts), Ms R Gittins (Democracy and Development Officer of the Students' Union), Professor L Gracia, Mr R Green (Librarian), Professor F Griffiths, Dr G Hartshorne, Mr G Howells (Independent Member), Professor S Jacka, Professor D Leadley, Professor J Millar, Professor P Roberts, Professor C Sparrow, Professor H Spencer-Oatey, Professor S Swain (Pro-Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement)), Professor L Young (Academic Vice-President).

In Attendance: Mrs E Birch (Head of Governance Services (Assistant Secretary)), Mrs S Black (Assistant Registrar (Governance)), Ms R Drinkwater (Group Finance Director), Dr M Glover (Academic Registrar), Mrs P Glover (Secretary to Council), Ms L Hasler (Administrative Officer), Ms R Sandby-Thomas (Registrar), Mrs R Wooldridge Smith (Deputy Academic Registrar).

#### 1/16-17 Conflicts of Interest

## REPORTED:

That, should any members or attendees of the Council or the Senate have any conflicts of interest relating to agenda items for the meeting, they should be declared in accordance with The Committee of University Chairs (CUC) Higher Education Code of Governance (2014).

NOTE: No declarations were made.

### 2/16-17 Appointment of the Chancellor

## CONSIDERED:

The recommendation from the Committee on the Appointment of the Chancellor (C.44/16-17 {restricted}).

## REPORTED: (by the Chair)

- (a) That, as resolved at the joint meeting of the Council and the Senate held on 14 October 2015, and in accordance with Statute 3, a joint committee of the Council and the Senate was established to consider and make a recommendation to the Council and the Senate sitting in joint session for the appointment of a successor to the Chancellor of the University, Sir Richard Lambert, who stood down on 30 September 2016 having acted as a great ambassador for the University during his period of office.
- (b) That the membership of the Committee on the Appointment of the Chancellor was approved by the Vice-Chancellor and the Chair of Council.
- (c) That following a call for nominations, issued on 20 June 2016, the Committee had explored a number of suggestions.
- (d) That the Committee met on 20 October 2016 to consider its final recommendation to the Council and the Senate.
- (e) That the Committee agreed unanimously that Baroness Ashton be recommended to become the University's Chancellor.

(by the Vice-Chancellor)

(f) That Baroness Ashton would bring a deep and passionate commitment to education and internationalisation to the role.

## RESOLVED:

That the appointment of Baroness Catherine Ashton as Chancellor of the University of Warwick, for a five year term of appointment from 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2021, be approved (passed nem con), noting that Baroness Ashton would be the first female Chancellor of the University.

As at 1 February 2017