

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

A meeting of the University Council will be held on 21 March 2003 at **2.00pm** in the Council Chamber, Senate House **Please note the earlier than usual timing of the meeting**

J W Nicholls <u>Registrar</u>

AGENDA

MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION BY THE COUNCIL (Yellow Papers)

Note: The following items and reports are for consideration and discussion at the meeting. A summary sheet is provided with each paper setting out the action which Council is asked to take on each specific item.

1. <u>Minutes</u>

TO CONSIDER:

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 13 December 2003 (copy attached).

2. <u>Matters Arising on the Minutes</u>

(a) Lay Membership of the Council (minute 19/02-03 refers)

That, following written consultation with all members of the Council, the recommendation of the Nominations Committee that Ms Rosemary Thorne, Group Finance Director of the Bradford and Bingley Building Society be appointed to lay membership of the Council for the period to 31 July 2005 had been approved by the Council.

(b) Horticulture Research International (minute 20/02-03 refers)

TO RECEIVE:

A report on the progress of discussions with DEFRA and HRI on the future development of the relationship between the University and HRI (C.20/02-03, to follow).

3. <u>Pro-Chancellor's Business</u>

TO REPORT:

(a) Appointment of University Librarian

That in accordance with Statute 10, the Pro-Chancellor, acting on behalf of the Council, has taken action to adopt the recommendation of the appointment committee established for the purpose and the Steering Committee, acting on behalf of the Senate, that Ms Anne Bell, Acting Director of Information Services and Systems at King's College London, be appointed to the post of University Librarian with effect from 2 June 2003.

(b) Careers Advisory Board

That the Pro-Chancellor, acting on behalf of the Council, has taken action to approve the appointment of Mr John Minards to the membership of the Careers Advisory Board.

(c) Faculty Advisory Board

That the Pro-Chancellor, acting on behalf of the Council, has taken action to approve the appointment of Mr B Woods-Scawen as Chair of the Arts Faculty Advisory Board.

(d) Award of Honorary Degrees July 2003

TO RECEIVE:

An oral report from the Pro-Chancellor on the award of honorary degrees in July 2003.

- 4. <u>Vice-Chancellor's Business</u>
- 5. Recurrent Funding 2003/2004

TO RECEIVE:

A copy of the letter from the HEFCE concerning the recurrent grant allocation to the University for the academic year 2003/2004 and HEFCE paper 2003/10 summarising the provisional allocations of recurrent funding to institutions for 2003/04 together with a note prepared by the Finance Director and the Senior Assistant Registrar (Planning) on the implications of the recurrent settlement on the University's financial plan (<u>C.21/02-03</u>, <u>attached</u>).

6. Estate Development Plan Review

TO CONSIDER:

A joint report from the Strategy and Building Committees on the Estate Development Plan Review (<u>C.22/02-03, attached</u>).

7. Appointment of Pro-Vice-Chancellors

TO CONSIDER:

Proposed revisions to the arrangements for the appointment of Pro Vice-Chancellors (C.23/02-03, attached).

8. <u>Report from the Senate</u>

TO CONSIDER:

A report from the meeting of the Senate held on 12 March 2003 (C.24/02-03 {Part 1}, attached).

- 9. <u>Reports from Council Committees</u>
 - (a) Finance and General Purposes Committee 6 February 2003 (<u>C.25/02-03 {Part 1}, attached</u>).
 - (b) Finance and General Purposes Committee 13 March 2003 (C.26/02-03 {Part 1}, to follow).
 - (c) Audit Committee (<u>C.27/02-03, attached</u>).
 - (d) Remuneration Committee (C.28 /02-03, attached).
- 10. Appointment of Lay Members of the Council 2003 2006

TO REPORT:

(a) That the period of office of the following lay members of Council will expire on 31 July 2003:

Mr C Howgrave-Graham Mr G Stokes Mr T E H Walker

- (b) That nominations for lay members of the Council are invited from all members of the University.
- 11. Any Other Business
- 12. <u>Presentation from Sir Howard Newby, Chief Executive of the HEFCE</u>

MATTERS TO RECEIVE AND APPROVE WITHOUT FURTHER DISCUSSION (Blue Papers)

The following papers and reports are non-controversial or can be accepted with a minimum of explanation. Members of the Council may, however, ask for any of the following items to be transferred to the Agenda for the day by contacting the Council Secretary (ext: 22713) prior to the meeting or by raising the item at the commencement of the meeting.

13. <u>Report from the Senate</u>

TO CONSIDER:

A report from the meeting of the Senate held on 12 March 2003 (C.24/02-03 {Part 2}, attached).

14. Reports from Council Committees

- (a) Finance and General Purposes Committee 6 February 2003 (<u>C.25/02-03 {Part 2}.</u> <u>attached</u>).
- (b) Finance and General Purposes Committee 13 March 2003 (C.26/02-03 {Part 2}, to follow).
- (c) Building Committee (<u>C.29/02-03, attached</u>).
- (d) Safety Committee (<u>C.30/02-03, attached</u>).
- (e) Art Collection Committee (<u>C.31/02-03</u>, attached).
- 15. Awards and Distinctions

TO RECEIVE:

A paper setting out the awards and distinctions that have been conferred on members of the University since the last meeting of the Council held on 13 December 2002 (<u>C.32/02-03</u>, <u>attached</u>).

16. Student Members of the Council

TO REPORT:

That Bob Jones, a 4th year Mathematics and Physics student, has been elected President of the Students' Union for the academic year 2003/2004 and Zhenya Zhabina, a 2nd year Politics student, has been re-elected as the second student member of the Council for the academic year 2003/2004.

17. <u>Deeds</u>

TO REPORT:

That, in accordance with Council minute 33/77-78, a copy of the deeds executed on behalf of the Council since the meeting of the Council on 22 March 2002 is available for consultation in the registry and will be attached to the minutes in the official minute book (C.33/02-03, paper will not be circulated).

18. Appointment of Members of the Court

TO REPORT:

(a) That the Council will consider the appointment of three members of the Court at its meeting on Friday 4 July 2003 following the expiry of the current period of office on 31 July 2003 of the following members:

> Mr H Dhokia Mr C Flint Ms U Russell

(b) That the continuing members of Court appointed by the Council are as follows:

Mr P Ahm (2004) Lady Braye (2004) Dr M Goldstein (2004) Mr J D M Hearth (2004) Councillor N Nolan (2004) Lady Owen (2005) Dr H Rees (2004) Lady Watson (2005) CEC/ec/council/21mar03 13/3/03