If you have not yet shared your portfolio with somebody else, you see the locked icon. Click on this to 'Manage access' i.e. share it with individuals, groups or externals (using a 'Secret URL').
Use 'manage access' to share with other Warwick Mahara users such as coursemates, module leaders etc. You can also share with groups and create 'secret URLs' via this option i.e. create a link to the collection that you can share using email or (very carefully) social media. Secret URLs give anyone with the link access to the collection or page you have shared so should be used and shared with care.
- The page you are sharing appears at the top of the window.
- If this is part of a collection, this message tells you which one and reminds you that these permissions will apply to all items within the collection.
- Click on + New secret URL to create a link that can be shared by email etc.
- Share with individuals and groups.
Click the Manage secret URLs option to create a secret URL for your portfolio. You are taken to the Secret URLs screen where you can set up one or more secret URLs.
- This is the Secret URL link that you can share with other people.
- Click on the pages icon to copy the link to your clipboard where you can then paste it into an email or document.
- Click on the pencil icon to open the calendar options (5) to set a start and end date between which the secret URL will allow anyone who has it to access the item that you have shared (whether this is a collection (and all pages within it), or an individual page). Once the end date is reached, access will be removed automatically.
- Click on the bin icon to delete the secret URL. Access using this link will stop immediately.
Once you have added a secret URL to a collection, a new item appears under the padlock icon (please note that this has changed to an unlocked version) to flag that the secret URL exists.
NB The Secret URL link and the Manage access links take you to the same edit access screen (see above).
Share with others
- Search for an individual or group using the drop down lost. In the image below, we have selected 'Users'. You can also share directly with one of the pre-existing 'General' groups (we strongly recommend not using 'Public' however) or share with a group that you own (or are a member of) from the list at the bottom of the menu.
- Search for users, friends or groups.
- Start and end date for sharing - once you have shared the item, you can (optionally) set a date and time between which the shared item will be available. Select a start date in From (you can choose 'now'), and an end date in To.
Sharing a collection with a group can be a very useful way of creating a standard template that other people can use as a starting point for their own work (e.g. when an assignment is set by a tutor who would like all students to follow a certain basic format).
However, in order to allow students to copy the collection into their own portfolio, there is an important setting under Advanced options that needs to be switched on to allow copying (3). This must be set to Yes.
Other options available under Advanced are:
- Allow users to leave comments. This is a useful way to get feedback on work created within a shared portfolio.
- Only make comments visible after being moderated by the portfolio administrator.
- As noted above. All the portfolio to be copied as a new item into someones personal pages and collections space.
- Force a specific start and end date for access that cannot be overridden by other settings.
The information on this page relates to Mahara 18.10 and was last updated December 2018.
- Introduction to managing course participants
- Make your course visible to students
- Check participants
- Enrolment methods and managing access permissions
- Roles and their functions in Moodle
- Switch to another role
- Create groups
- Create groupings
- Using activities with groups and groupings
- Activity completion
- Course completion
- Course participation
- Introduction to assessment and feedback
- Create and grade a submission using a rubric
- Use a marking workflow for assignments
- Allocate markers to specific submissions
- Create a fail / pass scale
- Provide grades and feedback for individual assignments
- Check the status of submissions
- Hide or show grades and feedback
- Create a custom certificate
- Create and manage badges