Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Create groups

When and why to use groups and groupings.

You can use groups and groupings to split students into smaller or larger groups to view resources or work together on an activity. This means that you do not need to create a separate activity for each group - instead, you create a single activity and configure it be a group-based activity.

You can assign students to one or more groups and can also allow them to choose for themselves.

Groupings contain one or more groups.

You can use groups/groupings to restrict access to individual activities and entire sections within a course.

Create a group

1. Groups are created by clicking on the main settings 'cog' icon at the top right of the Moodle space, choosing 'More' from the bottom of the menu and then selecting the 'Users' tab next to Course administration.

Create Group

2. Click on 'Groups' to open the Group management page.

Group options

3. Select 'Create group' to open the group creation page and fill in the details as shown.

  • Group name - Give the group a name that the students will recognise or that makes sense in the context of the course / space.
  • Group description - This is optional, but it may be useful to describe what this group is to be used for or who is a member of it in order to remind yourself and help distinguish between groups when there are a larger number.
  • New picture - This is also optional but may be useful in distinguishing groups or in creating a group identity.

Group details

4. When you save this group, you will be returned to the Group management page where you can add and remove people ('users') from groups. Also note the 'Groupings' tab.

Group Available

Select the group that you wish to edit. This will show you a list of the current members (if any). Click 'Add/remove users' to add or remove participants. This will open the Add/remove users page.

Add user to group

Select the course participants (on the right) that you would like to add to this group and click on Add in the centre. Click on 'Back to groups' when you have added all the relevant members to the group. The page will have updated to show the students now in that group and you can click though the groups on the left to see the list of participants allocated to each one.

NB You will need to repeat this process for each group that you create.

For more guidance on Groups, please see:

The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.4 and was last updated August 2018.

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content