Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Enrolment methods and managing access permissions

Enrolment methods

Within Moodle there are a number of different enrolment methods as outlined below:

External database extended

Participants enrolled through this process cannot be manually unenrolled. If they are removed from the relevant module or webgroup, they will go into a 'suspended' status on Moodle, they cannot be removed, and the course will disappear from their dashboard.

via SITS

Students on credit bearing courses are enrolled on the respective Moodle course spaces automatically via the student records system SITS.

  • If a student cannot see a module space on Moodle, check their module registration and their current SITS status to determine if this is preventing their data being transferred automatically to Moodle. Please contact the Student Records team for assistance.

In SITS, there is a single field for 'Course Leader' who is also enrolled automatically with full admin/editing rights. This should always be kept up-to-date by administration staff in the department.

  • If you are a module leader and your course does not appear on your Moodle dashboard, please email the Moodle support team.
via Enrolment rules

Enrolment rules use webgroups to automatically enrol people onto (usually ad-hoc) Moodle spaces. Webgroups are generated automatically from data held in student records / academic data store, or created manually by webgroup owners via webgroups.warwick.ac.uk. Changes to the webgroup will be reflected in Moodle and current enrolments must therefore be managed at the webgroups (or source of the webgroups) level.

NB Enrolment rules are created by departmental superusers or by the Moodle support team.

Manual enrolments

This enables users to be enrolled manually onto an ad hoc Moodle course space with various roles where required. It allows the ‘course leader’ to manage individual or collective enrolments to their course spaces themselves.

Auto-enrolment

This allows users to be automatically enrolled onto a Moodle course space as soon as they arrive to the relevant course page, using a link to the course space provided to them. It is only possible within a Moodle course space if the auto-enrolment method has been enabled on that course. Course leaders will need to email moodle@warwick.ac.uk to request auto-enrolment.

Self-enrolment

This allows users to enrol themselves onto a Moodle course space. It is only possible within a Moodle course space if the ‘Course Leader’ has added this method as an enrolment option to the enrolment methods for their course space.

Guest access

This allows users with a guest role across a department or category within Moodle to view the content of a Moodle course space. Users with ‘Guest role’ are not enrolled as a participant on your Moodle course space but will be able to view or browse the content within your Moodle course space.

Cohort sync

This allows a cohort of users enrolled in another course to be automatically enrolled into your Moodle course space.

To manually enrol a user on to your Moodle course space:

1. Ensure the left-hand navigation menu is open (the icon allows you to open and close) and choose 'Participants' from the menu.

enrolment participants

2. Click the enrol button on the right hand side of the participants page and an ‘enrolment options’ pop up window will open.

participants list

3. Use the drop-down menu corresponding to ‘Select users’ option to search for and select individual user(s) or the drop-down menu corresponding to ‘Select cohorts’ option to search for and select a specific cohort, and then use the drop-down menu to select the required role.

search participants

4. Click ‘Enrol selected users and cohorts’ button to enrol the users onto your Moodle course space.

enrol selected

 

To manually un-enrol a user on your Moodle ad hoc course space:

1. Ensure the left-hand navigation menu is open (the icon allows you to open and close) and choose 'Participants' from the menu.

enrolment participants

2. Find user within participants list on your Moodle course space and click the X icon to the right of the chosen participant’s details.

Remove participant

3. In the ‘Unenrol’ pop-up window, click the ‘Unenrol’ button to unenrol the selected user from your Moodle course space.

 Unenrol button

To assign another role to a participant within your Moodle course space:

1. Ensure the left-hand navigation menu is open (the icon allows you to open and close) and choose 'Participants' from the menu.

enrolment participants

2. Find user within participants list and click the pencil icon within the roles column to the right of the chosen participant’s details.

find user

3. Using the drop down select the role you would like to assign to the user and then click the save icon to save your changes.

select role

For more information on the roles available in Moodle (at Warwick), please see 'Roles and their functions in Moodle'.

The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.4 and was last updated October 2018.

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content