Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Create groupings

This guide explains the creation and use of groupings in Moodle. Groupings enable you to collate a series of groups together. If a student is in more than one group, or you want multiple groups to work on an activity together, you will need to use groupings for the groups to correctly work on the activity.

Before you can add Groups to the Groupings, you must first create the Groups of users. A single grouping can house one group or several groups and can be used to restrict access to activities and sections.

Create a grouping

  1. Open the action menu from the gear icon at the top right of the Moodle space.
  2. Select 'More' from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select 'Groups' from the 'Users' tab.
  4. Click the Groupings tab.
  5. Click 'Create Grouping'.
  6. Enter the name of your grouping. This will be used to identify which grouping should access to the specific activities.
  7. Click 'Save Changes'.

When you create a new grouping it will be empty. After creating a grouping, you will need to manually add groups.

Create groupings using auto-create groups. If you use auto-create groups, you can assign the groups automatically to groupings that already exist, or you can create new groupings at the same time as you create the new groups.

Add groups to a grouping

  1. Follow steps 1 and 2 from 'Create a grouping' above.
  2. Click 'Show groups in grouping' icon in the edit column.
  3. On the add/remove groups page, select the group(s) you want to add to the grouping from the 'Potential members' list.
  4. Click the 'Add' arrow button that points towards the 'Existing members' list.
  5. Click 'Back to groupings'. The group(s) you added to the grouping will now be listed in the table on the groupings page.

Existing groupings can be edited and/or deleted using the appropriate icons in the edit column of the table on the groupings page. If you delete a grouping, the groups inside it will not be deleted.

If the group mode of a Moodle space is set to 'separate groups', users will only see the activities they have been assigned to.

The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.6 and was last updated December 2019.

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content