Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Move or delete a block

This guide details how you can move or delete a block, resource or activity, i.e. an item, in Moodle.

  1. Click on the gear icon (cog icon) in the top right corner to open the action menu.
  2. In the action menu, click on 'Turn editing on'.
  3. Make the desired changes:
    • To move an item: Hover the mouse pointer over the four arrow icon and an alt text popup appears with the text 'Move item name'. Press and hold the mouse button, as you drag and drop the item into its new location. On the dashboard, you can move blocks from the centre to the right hand column and vice versa. This is not possible on course spaces: blocks can only be moved within the right hand column or within the centre.
    • To delete an item: Click on the gear icon (cog icon) next to an item (block, resource or activity) and select 'Delete item name' from the action menu. A prompt will ask you to confirm that the item will be deleted.
  4. Click on the gear icon (cog icon) in the top right corner to open the action menu.
  5. In the action menu, click on 'Turn editing off'.
Blocks are difficult to recover. If you are not certain that you wish to delete a block permanently, use the 'Hide block name' option in the action menu instead.
The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.6 and was last updated February 2020.

Contents

Filter by tool, task or content