Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Kaspersky Endpoint Security Upgrade

Kaspersky Endpoint Security is being upgraded to the latest version (version 11.6) on all managed Windows Desktop computers. This includes all managed staff desktop and laptop computers. Student work area computers and teaching computers.

What needs to happen?

It is essential that Kaspersky Endpoint Security is upgraded to the latest version to maintain protection against malware and other security threats.

What do I need to do?

The upgrade runs automatically and invisibly but requires the computer to be restarted to complete the process. At this point, you will see a pop-up notification. When you do please save your work and restart your computer as soon as possible.

After re-starting, logon to the computer again, re-connect to the VPN (if you are off-campus), and leave the computer online for at least 30 minutes to allow the upgrade to complete.

Why is a restart necessary?

Restarting your computer completes the upgrade. Until you do this your computer may be vulnerable to malware and other security threats. You can postpone the restart for 5 minutes at a time, up to a total of 90 minutes. If the computer has not been restarted within 90 minutes, it will restart automatically.

We strongly advise that you save your work and restart your computer immediately if you see a notification.

Following the restart, you may see a Windows system tray warning that the Kaspersky databases are out of date. The databases will update automatically within 30 minutes (and will not require a further restart).

What if my computer takes a long time to restart?

This can happen if your computer has not been restarted for some time and other updates must be installed alongside the Kaspersky one. There is no way to gauge how long this will take, but if it's been more than about 15 minutes, contact the Helpdesk for advice on 73737.

We strongly recommend that computers are restarted regularly, ideally at least once a week.

For advice or support, please contact us: https://warwick.ac.uk/helpdesk.

Note: once your computer has been upgraded you will be prompted to restart it. You will have 90 minutes to do so, with prompts every 5 minutes, before it restarts automatically.