Skip to main content

Research Staff Profile - Dr Peter Glen Walley

pwalley.jpg  Dr Peter Glen Walley
Research Fellow, School of Life Sciences.
Peter.G.Walley@warwick.ac.uk
Tel ext: 75164

Current Research
My current research is on leafy vegetables and salads for the Vegetable Genetic Improvement Network (VeGIN). VeGIN is a DEFRA-funded project that brings together research focused on key vegetable crops. The network encourages collaborations between industry and researchers to address how genetic improvement of crop varieties can contribute to a sustainable increase in food production to meet the twin challenges of food security and climate change. I also maintain the VeGIN website: http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/lifesci/research/vegin.

Life before Warwick
Going backwards through time, my PhD was registered at Warwick and I was based at Horticulture Research International (HRI) which became Warwick HRI. I did an MSc in industrial biotechnology; worked as a lab manager for 2 years for Eurofins Scientific; I did an honors degree in biochemistry and microbiology.

Best things about working at Warwick
The research being undertaken is world class, which is helped by having excellent research facilities. I find it rewarding to work with a diverse range of people, both academic and non-academic and I have made some good friends. It is refreshing to be able to drop in and share ideas with colleagues.

Worst thing about working for Warwick or If you could change one thing at Warwick, what would it be?
The nature of fixed-term contracts, and the glass ceiling it creates; however, this applies to the majority of Universities and research institutes; as with the majority of things in life, it comes down to finance.

What people are surprised to learn about me…..
In work, that I own a Chihuahua Jack Russell cross called Roo. Outside work, that I have a PhD and I am interested in plant breeding and crop genetics. I think this is because I look more like a builder.