Skip to main content

Constitution & Terms of Reference





Dr Fiona MacCallum (Psychology)

At least six academic members of staff from the Faculty of Social Sciences nominated by the Faculty Board

Professor Johannes Angermuller (Linguistics)




Dr Ravi Thiara (Lifelong Learning)


Dr Ali Moghaddasi Kelishomi(Economics)


Dr Ed Page


Beate Baldauf (IER)
  Dr Jane Bryan (Law)
  Dr Maja Korica (WBS)

One member from the Faculty of Arts

Dr Susan Haedicke (Theatre and Performance Studies)

One member from the Faculty of Medicine

Dr Wolfgang Markham 

Dept. of Psychology

Dr Friederike Schlaghecken

Lay Members (external to the Unversity)

Ms Kit Lawry


Reverend Dr M Bratton


In attendance

Dr John Taylor (WBS)

Student member

Ms S Olin




Rebecca Green

(Research & Impact Services)

Back To Top

Terms of Reference of the HSSREC


  • The Committee derives its authority from the overarching Research Governance and Ethics Committee.
  • To ensure that all non-NHS Research is of the highest ethical standard, and is in line with legislation and guidance concerning ethical approval and governance.
  • To monitor and discuss any problems arising from non-University ethics committee processes.
  • Commencing October 2005 meet at least bi-monthly to approve applications from staff and students to carry out non-NHS research.
  • Co-opt additional members whose particular expertise is required for certain proposals.
  • Ensure that all researchers in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Psychology Department, whether staff or students, are aware when they must submit their application to carry out research either to the relevant Research Ethics Sub-Committee or an NHS Ethics Committee, whichever is appropriate.
  • Oversee mechanisms in departments in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Psychology Department for reviewing student research not submitted for full committee ethical review and promoting good ethical conduct.
  • Report regularly to the Research Governance and Ethics Committee.
  • Deal with urgent applications arriving between meetings by Chair’s action, the Chair consulting with specialist expertise as required. Chair’s actions will always be submitted for ratification at the subsequent meeting of the Sub-Committee.
Back To Top
Modus Operandi
  • All papers and submissions to the Sub-Committee are to be kept confidential.
  • A quorum of four members is required to act on behalf of the whole Committee, at least 3 of which should be academic members.
 Back To Top