Skip to main content

Assessment and evaluation

Core reading provided in the module pack
Copy of Praslova's (2010) article from Educational Assessment, Evaluation and Accountability.

Four level model
Praslova (2010) proposes a simple four level model of assessment and evauation. This consists of:

  • Reaction criteria: affective reactions and utility judgements e.g. participant evaluations
  • Learning criteria: direct measures of learning outcomes e.g. performance tasks or session-specific work by participants
  • Behaviour criteria: evidence of use of knowledge and skills e.g. end-of-programme assessment
  • Results criteria: career success, service to society or personal achievement e.g. alumni survey

Integrating theory and practice
Praslove draws a helpful distinction between reaction criteria and learning criteria. For example, it is certainly useful to know if the room was comfortable and the catering ok but this can be distinguished from the assessment of learning outcomes. It is worth attempting to relate the four levels to the training course you are designing e.g. consider how to assess learning during individual sessions and use of knowledge and skills at the end of the programme.
Optional extension activities
Read Fry, Ketteridge and Marshall (2003) for another perspective on assessment and evaluation.