Skip to main content Skip to navigation

About the Department Structure

The University's 30 academic departments are organised within four Faculties; Arts, Medicine, Social Sciences and Science. In addition to academic departments the University also has 55 specialised research centres and institutes.

The Faculty of Arts comprises ten departments and seven research centres. Academic work in the humanities is characterised by its comparative nature. Particular strengths in languages, historical studies, English literature and creative writing underpin a variety of interdisciplinary themes in the Renaissance, the Americas and European Culture.

The Faculty of Medicine, Warwick Medical School, was established in 2000 and is making significant national and international contributions to education and research in health. It offers a comprehensive and innovative range of postgraduate and continuing professional development programmes for healthcare professionals in the UK and overseas, in subjects such as child health, diabetes, health sciences, medical education, public health, and dentistry. Research at WMS is centred around six divisions: Biomedical Cell Biology, Health Sciences, Mental Health and Wellbeing, Metabolic and Vascular Health, Reproductive Health and Microbiology and Infection.

The Faculty of Science comprises nine departments and 15 research centres. Science departments have established close links with industry and have particular strengths in the fields of molecular biology, parallel computing, manufacturing engineering, mathematics, statistics and materials science.

The Faculty of Social Sciences comprises nine academic departments, schools and institutes and 23 research centres including areas such as Globalisation and Regionalisation and Skills, Knowledge and Organisational Performance. The Faculty of Social Sciences has particular strengths in the fields of economics, law in context, the social science of health, philosophy, business studies, international relations, political and social theory, women and gender studies, ethnicity and the professional education of teachers and social workers.

The work of academic staff is supported by the University's academic and campus services.