Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research team members

The Habershon research group is based in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Warwick.

Our team comprises PDRAs, PhD students, graduate researchers and undergraduate project students from a range of backgrounds, including chemistry, physics, biochemistry and maths.

If you are interested in joining our group as a MRes student, PhD student, or PDRA - please get in touch!

Current Habershon group members

Prof. Scott Habershon (PI)

Scott's research interest is in developing and applying novel chemical dynamics simulations methods which can be used to study complex systems containing many particles. Particular focus is on photochemistry, automated reaction-mechanism generation, nuclear quantum effects and wavefunction dynamics.

A brief CV can be found here.



  • Kyle Acheson (started June 2023, funded by Leverhulme Trust)



PhD students:

  • Noha Khamis (PhD student, started Oct. 2020, with Prof. Martin Wills)
  • Ziad Fakhoury (PhD student, started Oct. 2021, HetSys CDT, co-supervised with Dr. Gabriele Sosso)
  • Raphael Chantreau-Majerus (PhD student, started 2018, MAS CDT)
  • Idil Ismail Link opens in a new window(PhD student, started 2019, HetSys CDT)
  • Fei Gao (PhD student, 2016-)
  • Joe Gilkes (PhD student, started 2020, HetSys CDT, co-supervised with Dr. Reinhard Maurer)
  • Wojciech Stark (PhD student, started 2020, co-supervised with Dr. Reinhard Maurer)
  • Zahra Bhatti (PhD student, started 2023, HetSys CDT)

Older pictures

Group, July 2017

Habershon group at departmental rounders game (July 2017)
L-R: Scott Habershon (PI), Max Saller (PhD student), Gediminas Pazera (URSS), Sam Buxton (PhD student),
Lizzie Evans (URSS with Gareth Richings), Lewis Baker (PhD student), Gareth Richings (PDRA),
Chris Robertson (PDRA), Adam Dean (URSS)

Habershon group at the Departmental Rounders competition (July 2016)

L-R: Katerina Gonos (URSS student), Alisha Sethi (Nuffield research student), Harry Tunstall (URSS student),
Scott Habershon (PI), Max Saller (PhD student), Jasmine Desmond (IAS Early Career Fellow), Lewis Baker (PhD student),
Lucy Coleman (Summer researcher in Notman group), Sam Buxton (PhD student)
Not shown: Khalid Alzahrani (PhD student), Gareth Richings (PDRA), Chris Robertson (PDRA)

Former group members and visitors

Dr. Gareth Richings (PDRA, 2016 - 2023)
James Gardner (PhD student, 2020 - 2023)
Tolu Akintan (MChem student, 2022 - 2023)
Dr. Christopher Robertson (PDRA, 2015-2021, now a PDRA at Heriot-Watt)
Ross Hyland (MChem student, 2019-2020)
Jay Johal (MChem student, 2019-2020)
Holly Stuttaford-Fowler (MChem student, 2018-2019)
Curtis Ochan Ashok (MChem student, 2018-2019)
Sam Buxton (Ph.D student, 2015-2019 - now teaching in the midlands)
Maximillian Saller (PhD, 2013 - 2017 - currently a PDRA with Eitan Geva)
Lewis Baker (PhD, 2013 - 2017 - currently a teaching fellow at University of Surrey)
Khalid Alzharani (PhD, originally supervised by Prof. Robert Deeth, 2013 - 2017)
Adam Dean (URSS summer project student, 2017 - went on to the Oxford TMCG CDT)
Prof. Nathan DeYonker (University of Memphis, IAS visiting Fellow, 2016)
Gediminas Pazera (URSS summer project student, 2017)
Daniel Cheney (MChem project student, 2016 - 2017)
Alex Harris (MChem project student, 2016 - 2017)
Dr. Jasmine Desmond (IAS early career fellow, October 2015 - June 2016 - left to a PDRA at University of Basel)
Jon Alborzpour (MChem project student, 2015 - 2016)
Katerina Gonos (URSS summer project student, 2016)
Dan Coxon (MChem project student, 2015 - 2016)
Alisha Sethi (Nuffield summer research student, July 2016)
Boy Lankhaar (visiting research student, Radboud University, Nijmegen, March 2015 - July 2015)
Roger de Souza Correa (Science without Borders student, Brazil, July 2015 - August 2015)
Kirsten Claridge (MChem project student, 2014 - 2015)
George Cullwick (MChem project student, 2014 - 2015)
Jack Emerson-King (URSS student, July - August 2014)
Michael Allan (MChem project student, 2013 - 2014)
Igor Orlowski (URSS student, July - August 2013)
Dave Perry (MOAC mini-project, May - July 2013)