Skip to main content

Programme of Events 2018-19


 
Tue 9 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Michael Dillon, 'Making Infinity Count: The Baroque Order of Transfinite Things and the Automatisation of Reason'
S0.11

More details to follow.

Wed 17 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA/History of Art Seminar: Bence Nanay (Antwerp)
IAS Seminar Room, Millburn House, History of Art Department

Title: 'Global Aesthetics'

Tue 23 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Karen Simecek, '‘Listen to me!' The Value of Voice in Performed Poetry’
S0.11
Tue 20 Nov, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Douglas Pye, ‘V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’ (full title below)
S0.11

Full title: ‘“… I have become less and less convinced that criticism does or should proceed through the use of anything that can reasonably be described as criteria”: V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’

Tue 4 Dec, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Philippe Lynes, ‘Blanchot’s role in Derrida's Life Death’. Respondent: Holly Langstaff
S0.11

Details to follow.

Tue 15 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Tina Lupton, ‘Queer Times for the Straight Book: Ali Smith, Maggie Nelson, Michel Serres’
S0.11
Tue 29 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Adam Frank, ‘Hollow Utterance or Expression: Austin with Stein’. Respondent: Daniel Katz
S0.11

Details to follow.

Tue 26 Feb, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Olga Smith, ‘Landscape without a subject: representing environment in contemporary photography’. Respondent: Karen Lang
S0.11
Tue 12 Mar, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: David Fearn, ‘Gorgias’ Cosmos: Classical Greek Sophistic Rhetoric as Exemplificatory Poetics’
S0.11
Thu 9 May, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Andrew Benjamin, ‘Sleeping, Waking and Resurrection: Notes on Piero della Francesca’s La Resurrezione’
tbc