Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Programme of Events 2018-19


 
Tue 9 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Michael Dillon, 'Making Infinity Count: The Baroque Order of Transfinite Things and the Automatisation of Reason'
S0.11

More details to follow.

Tue 16 Oct, '18
-
Philosophy Department Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: James Clarke (York)
S0.11

.Title: 'J.B. Erhard's Political Philosophy'

Wed 17 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA/History of Art Seminar: Bence Nanay (Antwerp)
IAS Seminar Room, Millburn House, History of Art Department

Title: 'Global Aesthetics'

Tue 23 Oct, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Karen Simecek, '‘Listen to me!' The Value of Voice in Performed Poetry’
S0.11
Tue 30 Oct, '18
-
Philosophy Department Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: Katrina Mitcheson (West of England)
S0.11

Title: 'Looking Beyond the Narrative Paradigm of Self-Construction'

Tue 13 Nov, '18
-
Post-Kantian Research Seminar: Foucault at Warwick
Room S0.11

Speakers:

Miguel de Beistegui (Philosophy): 'From Heidegger to Foucault: A One-Way Ticket?'

Claire Blencowe (Sociology): 'Thinking the Present Politics of Race with Foucault'

Claudia Stein (History): 'The Birth of Biopower'

Daniele Lorenzini (Postdoctoral Fellow Saint-Louis Brussels/Columbia): 'The Notion of Parrhesia Between Perlocutionary Truth and Possibilizing Critique'

Chair: Federico Testa (PhD candidate in Philosophy, Warwick/Monash).

Tue 20 Nov, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Douglas Pye, ‘V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’ (full title below)
S0.11

Full title: ‘“… I have become less and less convinced that criticism does or should proceed through the use of anything that can reasonably be described as criteria”: V.F. Perkins, E.H. Gombrich and Criteria’

Tue 27 Nov, '18
-
Philosophy Department Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: Joel Smith (Manchester)
S0.11

Title: 'Primal Impressions'

Tue 4 Dec, '18
-
CRPLA Seminar: Philippe Lynes, ‘Blanchot’s role in Derrida's Life Death’. Respondent: Holly Langstaff
S0.11

Details to follow.

Tue 15 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Tina Lupton, ‘Queer Times for the Straight Book: Ali Smith, Maggie Nelson, Michel Serres’
S0.11
Tue 22 Jan, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: Gordon Finalyson (Sussex)
S0.11

Title: 'Adorno's Moral Metaphysics of Solidarity in the Moment of its Fall'

Tue 29 Jan, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Adam Frank, ‘Hollow Utterance or Expression: Austin with Stein’. Respondent: Daniel Katz
S0.11

Details to follow.

Tue 5 Feb, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: Florence Caeymaex (Visiting Fellow)
S0.11

Title: Moral Subjectivity: Ethics in the Age of Biopolitics.

Tue 19 Feb, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: Dan Watts (Essex)
S0.11

Title: 'Love's Telos: Kierkegaard's Critique of Preferential Love'

Tue 26 Feb, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Olga Smith, ‘Landscape without a subject: representing environment in contemporary photography’. Respondent: Karen Lang
S0.11
Tue 5 Mar, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Seminar: G. Anthony Bruno (Royal Holloway University of London)
S0.11

Title: 'Logical and Moral Aliens Within Us: Kant on Theoretical and Practical Self-Conceit'

Tue 12 Mar, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: David Fearn, ‘Gorgias’ Cosmos: Classical Greek Sophistic Rhetoric as Exemplificatory Poetics’
S0.11
Thu 4 Apr, '19
Precarity and Precariousness Workshop

Workshop supported by CRPLA and HRC at Warwick and by Royal Holloway

Sat 4 May, '19
-
Poetry and Philosophy Colloquium: On Poetic Determination
MS.05
Thu 9 May, '19
-
CRPLA Seminar: Andrew Benjamin - ‘Doubt and Indifference: Threshold Conditions in Rosso Fiorentino and Bartolomeo Neroni’ (new title)
MS.05