Skip to main content

Three Warwick academics pick up national teaching awards

Three academics at the University of Warwick have been awarded National Teaching Fellowships, the most prestigious awards for excellence in higher education teaching.

Professor Carol Rutter, Professor of English and Director of the CAPITAL Centre, Professor Gary Watt from the Department of Law and Dr Sarah Richardson from the Department of History have all been announced as winners this week.

The award winners were chosen from nearly 200 nominations submitted by higher education institutions across England and Northern Ireland, and will each receive an award of £10,000. The award may be used for Fellows’ professional development in teaching and learning or aspects of pedagogy.

Professor Carol Rutter said: “In today's political climate it's more important than ever to celebrate the world-class teaching that's going on at Warwick by the same academics who are producing world class research. This award is a tribute to Warwick students. While it may be true that excellent teachers produce excellent students, it's undeniably true that at Warwick, it's students who have continuously challenged me as a teacher to meet their expectations and strive for excellence.” 

Professor Gary Watt said: "It is immensely invigorating and encouraging to receive this award, and a real honour to join a fellowship of educational enthusiasts" 

Dr Sarah Richardson added: “I am honoured to receive this award in recognition of my own work but also for the creative and innovative teaching environment in the Department of History.”

All winners are invited to the Higher Education Academy awards ceremony in September in London. Professor Sue Law, Director of Academic Practice at the Academy comments: I am delighted to congratulate our new National Teaching Fellows: their commitment and dedication to supporting learning, teaching and working to maximise student potential is most impressive. Good teaching is the cornerstone of a positive student experience; we at the Academy work to support HE teachers in delivering a world-class service to their students.”

The scheme raises the profile of learning and teaching in higher education, and recognises and celebrates individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience.  The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) is part of an overall Academy programme to raise the status of learning and teaching in higher education. It is funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland (DELNI).

Notes to editors:

Image of Professor Carol Rutter:
Image of Professor Gary Watt:
Image of Dr Sarah Richardson:

For more information contact Kelly Parkes-Harrison, Communications Manager, University of Warwick, 02476 150483, 07824 540863,