Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Warwick Women in Translation Award Shortlist Announced

The prize celebrates writing by women translated into English by any translator.

The prize giving ceremony to announce the winner of the prize will be on 24 November in the Shard, London.

The shortlist for the 2022 prize is:

  • Selva Almada, Brickmakers, translated from Spanish by Annie McDermott (Charco Press, 2021)
  • Katja Oskamp, Marzahn, Mon Amour, translated from German by Jo Heinrich (Peirene Press, 2022)
  • Faïza Guène, Men Don’t Cry, translated from French by Sarah Ardizzone (Cassava Republic Press, 2021)
  • Marit Kapla, Osebol: Voices from a Swedish Village, translated from Swedish by Peter Graves (Penguin Random House (Allen Lane), 2021)
  • Margarita Liberaki, Three Summers, translated from Greek by Karen Van Dyck (Penguin Random House (Viking), 2021)
  • Geetanjali Shree, Tomb of Sand, translated from Hindi by Daisy Rockwell (Tilted Axis Press, 2021)
  • Irene Solà, When I Sing, Mountains Dance, translated from Catalan by Mara Faye Lethem (Granta, 2022)

Shortlist books

The prize has experienced another year of record submissions as interest in international literature written by women continues to rise.

The 2022 shortlist includes works translated from Catalan, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Spanish and Swedish.

One of the judges, Boyd Tonkin, said “Since it began in 2017, this prize has reflected a welcome, and overdue, widening of the range of global women’s voices available to readers in the UK.

“This year, our wonderfully varied shortlist crosses every kind of border. It celebrates books in many genres from many backgrounds, united only by the excellence of the original works and the artistry of their English translations”.

Amanda Hopkinson, another judge, commented: “From India to Catalonia, Sweden to Argentina, Berlin to Athens to Marseille, our choices span social comedy and oral history, epic storytelling and mythic journeys, the cycles of nature and the poetry of daily life. We hope that readers enjoy discovering them as much as we did.”


Notes to editor:

Tickets for journalists or media interested in attending the prize ceremony on 24 November in The Shard are available. Please contact Holly Langstaff at