Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Use blocks to link to and display content

This guide explains what blocks are and how to manage them in a Moodle space.

Blocks are a type of static content, similar to resources. They are used to provide an overview of the course itself or to link to external tools such as lecture capture (Echo 360) and reading lists (Talis Aspire). They can be added to the dashboard and to the right-hand side column of Moodle spaces..

You will commonly encounter the following blocks:

Dashboard blocks

You can find more information about dashboard blocks on the guide Navigate your dashboard.

Moodle module space blocks


Add a block to the Dashboard

  1. Click on 'Customise this page' at the top right of the dashboard if not already enabled.
  2. Open the navigation drawer if it is not already open.
  3. Click 'Add a block' in the bottom of the navigation drawer.
  4. Choose the required block from the list.
  5. The block will appear on the right-hand side of your Moodle space.
  6. Leave the block where it is or drag it to another location on the page using the move icon.
  7. Click 'Stop customising this page'.

Add a block to a Moodle space

  1. Turn on editing
  2. Open the navigation drawer if it is not already open.
  3. Click 'Add a block' in the bottom of the navigation drawer.
  4. Choose the required block from the list.
  5. The block will appear on the right-hand side of your Moodle space. It cannot be dragged to the centre.

    Move or delete a block

    1. Turn on editing
    2. To move an item: Hover the mouse pointer over the four arrow icon and an alt text popup appears with the text 'Move item name'. Press and hold the mouse button, as you drag and drop the item into its new location. On the dashboard, you can move blocks from the centre to the right-hand column and vice versa. This is not possible on course spaces: blocks can only be moved within the right-hand column or within the centre.
    3. To delete an item: Click on the gear icon (cog icon) next to an item (block, resource or activity) and select 'Delete item name' from the action menu. A prompt will ask you to confirm that the item will be deleted.
    Blocks are very difficult to recover. If you are not certain that you wish to delete a block permanently, use the 'Hide block name' option in the block settings menu (see below).

    Hide / Show a Block

    You can hide a block from the student view (it will still be visible to editors) without deleting it.

    1. Turn on editing
    2. To hide an item: Click the Edit settings icon for the block that is to be hidden, click on the Eye icon with the label Hide block name.
    3. To show an item: Click the Edit settings icon for the hidden block that is to be shown, and click on the Eye crossed-out icon with the label Show block name.

    More information on blocks is available at Moodle Docs.

    The information on this page relates to Moodle v3.8 and was last updated October 2020.

    Contents

    Filter by tool, task or content